Laundry and Scones and Falafel. Oh my!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 8th 2012
Published: July 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This weekend has been jam-packed with crossing off my bucket list and overall European-ness. On Friday, my roommate Kayleigh and I went on quite the adventure.

We started off "sleeping in" until 8:00, and quickly setting off to do our laundry. It costs about $5 to wash and $3.50 to dry, and since the driers do not work, we decided to save ourselves some money. When the washers were done (after about an hour!), we brought our clothes back up to the room to hang them up to air dry during the day. Here's just a glimpse of what the room looked like:



After that mess, we were on our way to explore London. First stop: shopping. I did not end up buying anything, but we navigated the busy streets and looked at expensive and beautiful clothes. When we started getting tired, we went to Harrods again to look at their food selection, and let me tell you it is nothing if not astonishing. They have food from every culture and every meal, including Egyptian, Indian, Chinese, and more. The chocolate room was wonderful; it had truffles, fudge...basically any chocolate-thing you can think of (yum). Their cupcakes looked perfect, and their pastries were to die for, too. Kayleigh and I decided to buy these fabulously glittery doughnuts for lunch. That's right, we ate these and coffee as our lunch at a cute cafe down the street.



Following our Harrods trip, we took an old school red double decker bus to another area of London where we had planned to have afternoon tea. The bus was no ordinary double decker bus; the entrance was in the back, and there was a man who would walk around to scan our tickets and bus passes.

Here is what a modern double decker bus looks like:



And, here is what we were on:



As I said before, this bus adventure led us to afternoon tea, where Kayleigh and I managed to eat every pastry and scone we were given but skipped the sandwiches. They were not vegetarian, so she did not eat them. And I tried a bite of each but let's just say they did not "tickle my fancy."



We had such a fun time that we were giddy with smiles the rest of the afternoon.



Our day did not stop there, however. We went back to the room (where our clothes were not dry) to relax and left a couple hours later for our dinner reservations. The restaurant/club we went to had two bouncers who looked on a clipboard to find my name on the list (boo-ya). We had falafel burgers (yummmm), chips (french fries), and I had a waffle with bananas and ice cream for dessert. The fact that they have waffles for dessert here and we eat them for breakfast in the states is a little concerning to me, but I couldn't pass it up; and, boy was it good.





I have more to tell you about this weekend, but I will save it for another post.

Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb