Second Week Madness


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 19th 2012
Published: June 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have been in London for a week and a half already! Bloody Hell! Oddly, it feels like I have been here longer ... maybe it's because I almost know how to get around the area (I hope I didn't just jinx myself by saying that). Or because I have been asked TWICE now for directions by people who think I know what I'm talking about. I mustbe on my way to becoming a true Brit, right?

Work has been going well. Although I have been doing a lot of inputing data into excel spreadsheets, which I actually secretly enjoy, I have also been asked to write the news updates for the Dance segment of the company's website. I have published one already, and I am in the process of writing 7 more for tomorrow. I have to say, it is pretty cool to see my work shown in the company's public forum.

England won their football (or footy as some people here call it) match today! What a lucky game for them. I love that tons of people crowd into pubs to watch football here, except when I am trying to eat and it takes 45 freaking minutes just to order. But, in all honesty, I love the culture of getting together and supporting their country's national team. I kind of wish the U.S. would do the same.

This past weekend, we toured London on a double decker bus. It was wonderful site-seeing, but it was basically winter weather. Cold and incredibly windy, especially while riding on the top of a moving vehicle. Overall, though, the city is beautiful and has so much to be explored. The next day, we went on a walking tour of Camden and saw Amy Winehouse's home, which is selling for 2.7 million pounds ($4.2mil in the States). Then, we went to Camden market where I had falafel for lunch (guys, I just couldn't resist...). It was just what I needed. After walking around the shops in Camden, my roommate and I explored Harrods, one of the most expensive and most massive stores I have ever seen. It has every department you can imagine, including a wedding boutique and a full restaurant. We even saw a wedding dress with an original cost of more than 6000 pounds, which is just shy of $10,000. In other words, I do not see myself ever buying anything from that store.

Also, I ordered my first alcoholic beverage in London the other day, where it is legal to drink at 18, and I was carded. The friend I was with was not carded, and we are the same age. I am still not sure whether or not I should be flattered that I look young. I am going to go with yes. I am flattered.

I cannot wait to continue to see what London has in store for me 😊

Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb