Disaster at Heathrow


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 12th 2012
Published: June 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My plane trip!

Wellington to Auckland to Kuala Lumpur to London!

I've always wanted to live in England and the UK and I've always wanted to travel around Europe. Still, I can't believe that I actually put those plans into action and am now here! It's kinda surreal but also very cool.

Looking out the window of the airplane and seeing an endless stretch of white fluffy clouds and no horizon in sight I couldn't help the excitement creeping in. This to me represented the endless stretch of possibilities and opportunities for this next chapter in my life.

Not surprisingly there were tears shed at the airport when farewelling my amazing family but since then mostly my trip has been a smooth and exciting one.

Mostly...

I flew with Malaysian air to kuala lumpur and then onto heathrow in London. Pretty impressed with the service and the food. My biggest issue at this point was the fact that Reese Witherspoon chose the wrong man in "This means war". I mean c'mon who wouldn't choose Tom hardy!?!

Oh actually there was one other thing... Snakes on the plane!

Hehe the lolly type that is! Thanks Claire and Viv!

Soo I made it to heathrow in one piece and even made friends on the plane. So ofcourse right now I am feeling on top of the world!

But wait where's my bag?! What do you mean it hasn't turned up?!?

Cue slight panic attack and lots of paperwork, heathrow assured me that they would locate the bag and send it to me. I left the airport not very reassured and praying that my suitcase would turn up. After all that case holds my entire collection of Forever New clothes!!

So I headed into town and checked into my hostel in London bridge. (By the way i dont think the hostel life really suits me...haha give me a private room any day!) The rest of the afternoon was a haze of practical activities such as phone buying and setting up bank accounts. I did however meet a couple of girls who had just arrived in London and we spontaneously went out for lunch together. Shame they weren't staying in London. Also decided to head into Trafalgar Square and go to the Natonal Gallery. Definitely one of my favourite places in London! Beautiful paintings and beautiful gallery. Would love to work there!

Also note: the entire day had been pouring with rain. London had obviously brought out the good weather for me!

I went to bed exhausted but also relieved I had made it thus far. My dreams were full of weird images of my suitcase and it's journey round the world. Where are you my baby?!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb