SNOW!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 6th 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

SNOW!SNOW!SNOW!

Me playing in the snow as soon as I could!
This weekend seemed to be very regular and uneventful- until Saturday came along. We heard that there might be snow but we got really excited when flights began to get canceled the next day at Hethrow airport.

I had a great day Saturday because I got up, spent some time reading The Hunger Games (a new book that I am obsessed with) and then went to watch the West Ham v. Millwall game at Nelson's Retreat, one of my favorite pubs (mostly because they have delicious thai food). After hanging out there I returned home to read the Hunger Games, and about an hour later got a call from my friend telling me to run outside. When I got outside there was a light snow falling and it had already begun to stick to the ground! Most of the Americans on the program are from Boston or Phili, so they are unimpressed by the snow, but Jon, a boy from South Carolina, and Emily, a girl from Texas, were just as excited as I was.

I didn't want to stop looking out the window because I was afraid it would stop any second. I looked away for just enough
Westminster AbbyWestminster AbbyWestminster Abby

The beautiful church- Westminster Abby
time to get ready and put a coat on and then went over to my friends flat for a "snow party". All the snow party consisted of was us looking out the window and drinking hot chocolate. Then, for really the rest of the night, we just played in the snow. We attempted to make a snow man and even got in a snow ball fight with the owners of Best American Pizza and the owners of the local kabob store. It was one of the best nights.

The next morning I woke up early to go to Parliament and Big Ben to take pictures. I am so glad I went! It was gorgeous and so different to see the sights with snow all around. I then decided to walk to Trafalgar square to take more pictures. By this time I was hungry, so I went to the National Gallery to eat in their cafe. I spent some time there writing in my journal, reading and having a pot of tea. When I was leaving I saw an advertisement for a Leonardo Da Vinci exhibit, but it was sold out. I walked upstairs to pass by it and I
Flowers Flowers Flowers

The flowers survived the cold
got to see "The Last Supper" painting! It was so beautiful and such amazing work. It was the last day of the exhibit and it is usually housed in Milan, so I am so glad that I got to see it!

Last night I went to a sports bar to watch the Super Bowl with my American friends and a few British boys. It was a ton of fun, but one of my good friends was a big Patriots fan.

Now school has begun again and I have two hard days of classes! I can't wait for the adventures next weekend will hold! I booked a one night trip to Liverpool on Thursday, so I can't wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

LondonLondon
London

Big Ben and the London eye with snow
Southerners Southerners
Southerners

Emily, Jon and I right when it began to snow. We represent the south!


7th February 2012

No snow in Dallas
So glad it feels like home (in Chicago) to you in London. Last year in Dallas at this time we had 5 days of snow/ice. This year it was 70 degrees this weekend. Today is the high is 59. We are trying to plan a camping trip if the weather remains mild later this month.

Tot: 0.028s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb