One ticket to London Town


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 15th 2011
Published: June 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

love London, I think it might be one of my favourite cities in the world. I love the history (huge fan of Royal history therefore love the castles etc), I love the lay-out of the city, the buildings that hold so many memories, the hustle of the underground, the people, the fashion, the smell (weird?)...and the list goes on. The city just has this unique personality that I can't remember ever seeing in a city anywhere else that I've been. New York to me is classy as i mentioned, but I think London can be described as chic.

Arriving in London we stayed for one night in Kensal Green....interesting hostel, the rooms were very basic and as one traveller who is definitely not a princess when it comes to hostel rooms and facilities, I did wake up worried that I might have gotten knits or bed bugs due to the state of the beds, pillows and blankets etc. But I am alright!

We then moved onto Christopher's Inn at Belushi's Bar in Shepherd's Bush which was recommended to us by Casey. This place had a great social vibe, the staff were really friendly, the rooms basic but seemed clean which is all we really need! We didn't spend much time in the morning there as we were off to The Church in Clapham Junction for an eventful and action-packed day with the hundreds of cross-dressing Aussies, Saffas, Kiwis, Irish, Scottish and of course English party lovers. This place is like nothing else, however not for the faint-hearted. We had a crazy time. After The Church everyone kicks on to the Shepherd's Bush Walkabout to continue the party as The Church only goes from 12-4pm. Everyone is always in great spirits and it is mainly just a great bunch of patriotic backpackers, whatever their nationality, enjoying each other's company and just celebrating being young and loving life on the road...so to speak. A great day ended sadly for me as my camera, which I had become very attached to and taken some amazing photos with was stolen out of my bag. The camera was replaceable, I always knew that, but the photos were priceless and I was pretty devestated about it. I filed a police report at Hammersmith and now just have to wait until I'm home to reclaim the value. Sigh...these things do happen to travellers....it's the gamble you take. Looking on the brightside while bumps in the road like this do occur, the good memories always outweigh the bad...and that's the way I try to look at it now.

We are now staying out in North Acton with some family friend's of Mat's until we leave for Manchester on Friday. Done a lot of sightseeing including the Tower of London which I did with my Dad back in 2006 and absolutely loved so was happy to go back again, and the London Dungeons. This place is so much fun, I think I screamed about eight or nine times. Such a sook 😊 But it was lots of fun and it's definitely a great day out in London doing the Tower and the Dungeons. Took us about 5-6 to do the whole thing without rushing so would recommend this day of sightseeing to anyone. There's so much to do here, I'm glad we'll be back and forth throughout our travels so that we don't miss anything. This is definitely a city I could never get tired of, and could definitely live here if the opportunity arose. Five stars for Londontown, looking forward to each moment that lies ahead here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb