Crash landing in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
March 22nd 2006
Published: May 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

hello again!

well I have crash landed in the UK. gotta say, its slightly colder here than in the desert...

I arrived in london on Monday after my week stint in Dubai. I had a successful time in Dubai with interviews and was well received at a number of international firms. Unfortunately I was pipped at the post for the position at (**snip**) because the other candidate (I was shortlisted to the final two) spoke arabic. pretty hard to compete with! would have been an interesting role as it had a requirement to travel the region to negotiate deals (ie imagine Kate dressed head to toe in black, with just eyes peeping out, negotiating deals in Saudi Arabia). although I am sure all family members just heaved a loud sigh of relief at hearing I didn't get the position!

On my last day I met with the Dubai office of (**snip**). I was more than impressed by the scope of work in the region, the people I was interviewing with and the firm itself.

So I am now in London, but (**snip**) are flying me back to Dubai next week for a second interview. If that goes well I will be back home shortly thereafter to pack and move permanently. Great thing about the position is that they will pay to relocate me, and they give an annual flight home to all international staff, which means I will be definitely coming home to visit.

what I didn't mention, is that I have also had other strong interest from other employers in Dubai (its truly an employees market). so the opportunities are there, but I haven't really jelled with the personalities in the other firms in the same way i did at (**snip**).

I am also looking at positions in the UK but its proving slightly more difficult as I don't have a visa to work here and I am competing against the normal UK market (where there are a lot of lawyers with my experience in media) and against all the ex-pat Australian lawyers who are on working holiday visas. The two days I have spent here so far have convinced me however that I definitely want to come back here to live at some stage, so the plan that is shaping up is Dubai for a couple of years and then an internal transfer to the UK..

such a big planet. such a short life. how I am expected to fit it all in?

hope you are all tres bonn. missing you all and wishing every single one of you would relocate to live in dubai with me.

x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb