ATW80: More of LDN


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 9th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This morning I wanted to do the rest of the War Memorial. I figured I could see everything else plus fit in some time at the Science Museum before hitting up the Royal National Hotel for the Contiki Orientation Meeting.

I chose my favourite breakfast place as the McDonalds on Oxford St, near Oxford Square tube. It is across the road form the internet café I visited on my first day here, so that if I needed to kill time before anything opened, I could cheaply kill time there.

My main gripe with museums is that they open around 10am. What is an early riser like myself supposed to do, seeing that I am up at 4am every morning? At least I got to chat to another old school friend living in London - I’ll have to catch up with Nathan over a beer when I get back from Contiki.

I did the rest of the IWM starting from the WW2 section, working my way to see the top - the Holocaust museum section, which was horrific even if it is also objective.

I went over to the Royal National a bit early because I have to buy a sleeping bag for the trip. Also I need to meet up with Scott and Alicia. Scott suggested I start the tour with him instead of in Russia and that it would be a great to see a lot of the sights with the pair of them. Also, Alicia didn’t know that I would be coming along, only that I would see her at the Edinburgh Military Tattoo. Still, Scott kind of let the cat out of the bag when he mentioned that “someone we know” could be coming along for the trip. It was still a surprise for her and probably good for me as well, seeing that I hadn’t seen them in a long time, but now got to spend time with them halfway around the world.

After our meeting, I left Scott and Alicia alone as they had to sleep their way through their jetlag. I went back to St Paul’s Cathedral, packed for the Contiki road trip and then went down to The Rising Sun for a few quiet ales before bedtime.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0745s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb