London 11Aug


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 11th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

St Pauls Cathedral - front
After a morning coffee at the Giraffe, I strode into Trafalgar Square and bought a day transport pass, went to stop 1 to start the adventure. The girl selling tickets on Northumberland (might need to rephrase that) was very helpful and sold me a ticket for the London Tower so I didn’t have to stand in the ticket queue. Very thoughtful. Took the yellow tour (four colours available), there were headphones for the commentary in 8 languages (English worked out best). Arrived at St Pauls Cathedral, hopped off. The bus guy wanted to sell me a ticket to a bunch of other attractions and it all made sense. Realizing I had a full day ahead of me, I went over to the cathedral and went in, took the tour. The cathedral is huge. There are many significant people buried there, with memorials to a staggering amount of prominent people over the ages. The vaulted ceilings are impossibly amazing. Ascended the 257 steps to the first observation level (whispering gallery) being 30 metres above the cathedral floor. You could sit all around the gallery, with some small doors at even intervals. Ascended another 376 steps and arrived at the stone gallery, 53
LondonLondonLondon

St Pauls Cathedral - Golden Gallery
metres above the cathedral floor. There was a small glass opening in the observation floor which was directly above the central mosaic in the main hall. I had come this far, I decided to go another 528 steps to the golden gallery being 85 metres in total. After making it back down, I left the cathedral and hopped on the next bus to London Tower.

At London Tower I took a guided tour with the beafeater (hope that’s right) which was very informative. Joined the queue outside for the crown jewels. Where do all these tourists come from? Once inside, there was another queue, but it was all worth it in the end, there were countless exhibits of monarchy treasures. After a bite to eat I wandered over to the London bridge which opened as I arrived, amazing luck. Took a bunch of photos and headed down to the wharf and took the ferry to Greenwich.

Greenwich is fantastic, walked up to the observatory and viewed the all the exhibits (time keeping, star gazing, astronomy, etc). I stood with one foot in the western hemisphere and one in the east. Didn’t hurt a bit, though for a while
LondonLondonLondon

London Tower
there I had a legitimate excuse for half my mind being in another time zone. I adjusted my watch and headed down to the maritime museum. I missed out on the Cutty Sark and the Painted walls, being closed til 2010. Took the ferry back to London Bridge and rejoined the yellow bus tour. I completed the lap of the yellow tour and by 7pm got on the tube to head home.

Was a 13 hour day from door to door, but well worth it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

LondonLondon
London

London Bridge
GreenwichGreenwich
Greenwich

Greenwich Meridian
GreenwichGreenwich
Greenwich

Greenwich - Maritime Museum


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb