England!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 17th 2009
Published: June 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I know it has been forever since I've updated but I guess I should complete my blog!

England was GORGEOUS. After being in the city in Valencia for four months it was amazing to see green all around me again. I can't remember all the details so I will blog by picture this time.

Stop #1: Salisbury

Home/birthplace to William Golding, author of Lord of the Flies

Salisbury Cathedral. Tallest church spire in the UK, currently undergoing lots of work.

Just a beautiful, small, old town where we had a delicious lunch at a pub.


Stop #2: Stonehenge

It's all theory. It is NOT UFOs. Our super smart tour guide (who never let us forget that he graduated with honors from Oxford and is literate in Latin, Greek, and who knows how many other languages) believes it was built for religious purposes. I trust his knowledge and after hearing his explanation of this is the theory I choose. I do not remember the details now, so, sorry. But I took pictures from every angle, I'll just put up a few.


Stop #3: Bath

Celebrities such as Nicholas Cage and Johnny Depp own property in Bath and many many many movies have been set in this beautiful little town.

We toured the ancient Roman baths here; I touched the water, it is warm.

Bath is like no city I have ever seen before... it's really like something out of a movie. I can't even describe it. There is a lot of money in that city; I don't think I could ever live there.

And the Bath Abbey. Flying buttresses.


Stop #4: LONDON

I could have spent 10 days here!

Buckingham Palace, The London Eye, Big Ben, Piccadilly Circus, Harrod's, Trafalgar Square, you name it, we probably saw it if time allowed. We bought "hop on, hop off" bus tour passes to try to get the chance to see all the big sights but I could have spent days shopping and going to all the museums. London holds so much history and the locals are so nice!


Overall, England is so beautiful. It may be cold, cloudy, and rainy 50% of the time but there are endless pubs, shopping, and history; I can't wait to go back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb