Londinium


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 31st 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Aye Aye SailorAye Aye SailorAye Aye Sailor

HMS Belfast on the Thames. A really good trip out if you are interested in anything nautical or just men in sailor suits.
I'm sure you all thought you'd escape my pictures while I'm stuck here in the U of K awaiting my next little sojourn out of the country, but no!

Here are few pictures taken along the South Bank of the Thames. The South Bank stretching from the Design museum at Butler's Wharf in the east to Vauxhall and MI6 in the west has to be one of my favourite walks in London. The fact that you can walk all the way along the riverside between the two is fantastic, unlike in the grim north of London (only joking, but south is best).

London is great city, it would be even better if the tourists could learn how to use the tube properly. If you are a foreigner and planning a trip to London, here's some tips:
Only ever stand on the right of the escalators, NEVER on the left.
Allow people off the train BEFORE you get on and move down the platform at Leicester square, do not stop as soon as you get on the platform and block the entrance, it's bloody annoying.

But enough of the moaning (as if I ever would), I'll add more London
Jewel in the CrownJewel in the CrownJewel in the Crown

Nealy a thousand years old, no wonder it's full of Yanks, there's more history in it's little finger than all of their country (excluding Native americans of course)
photos again I'm sure. You may even get lucky and I'll put some of Balham one day. 'Gateway to the south' don't you know. Peter Sellers has a lot to answer to (look it up).








Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

In a pickleIn a pickle
In a pickle

Ah the delightful Gherkin, good old Norman Foster does it again.
Is Ken in?Is Ken in?
Is Ken in?

Some people have a rude nickname for the new city hall. Maybe Ken has heard it, but I bet he's been called worse
Tower BridgeTower Bridge
Tower Bridge

It took 8 years, 5 major contractors and the relentless labour of 432 construction workers to build Tower Bridge, I'm bet you're glad I told you that.
Red, white and blueRed, white and blue
Red, white and blue

And that's not me on a cold day either.
Bang BangBang Bang
Bang Bang

A view over HMS Belfast's guns.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb