Figuring a few things out


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 18th 2006
Published: January 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Across the Pond

Where I was about a week ago to where I am now

Me Kate and Allie Me Kate and Allie Me Kate and Allie

In front the the Tower Bridge
Today I went on my first run/walk through Hyde Park. It wasn't an overly beautiful day by any means, overcast and wet out from it raining last night. But it was still very very enjoyable. I ran around this lake more towards my side then kept walking along some paths and eventually made a circle back to my flat. There were these little birds that I don't think I have ever seen before at home. They were medium size birds with these kinda longer legs, some had white faces and some more reddish beaks. I liked them a lot and will try to take my camera back to the park so I can show everyone a picture of them. There were also lots of these brownish grayish geese around with really bright red beaks. I also learned that you really need to watch your step when running in the park because there is poop everywhere!!! We are talking horse poo, dog poo, and a variety of bird poo. So that part was not too pleasant.
So far classes have been going well. They sound pretty neat and some have a bit of good bit of work with them but not too bad. There is a library at CAPA (where I take class) that students leave the books from previous semesters b/c they don't want to pack them to go back home. So I have been able to get most the books I need from there without paying for them. I just borrow them read what I need to read and return them until i need them again. It's a pretty nice system. Last night I stayed in with the girls and we watched a movie on Kate's computer and just hung out. I also ventured to the big grocery store. I think I did pretty well navigating my way around it, until after I checked out then I got lost for a while trying to find my way out of the place. I ended up having to ask for directions. Also the other day I went to this other big store with the girls to get some shampoo and a curling iron and stuff. As we were looking around for which cashier to checkout with I noticed these empty stations where one guy was working. I immediately think its self checkout. So I say "Hey there's self checkout let's go over there". Once there I got behind a station and started to try and scan my item. Then Kate notcied the guy to my left laughing at me and told me she didn’t thing I was supposed to be back there. Turns out it wasn't self checkout the guy to my left worked there and I was not supposed to be behind the scanner. I then noticed other people laughing at me, and I admit it was really funny but I felt pretty stupid. But I learned.
Tomorrow night we are going to see The Producers (the play not the movie), I'm pretty excited about that. Then on Friday we are going on a trip to Bath and Stonehenge.
Well I am going to go do some reading for class then go to my class at 5.
Oh yeah mom, you'd be proud. Kate Allie and I are on a water binge. We are only having one pop a day and we are drinking these big water things b/c water is so much better for you.

LOVE YOU!

Advertisement



19th January 2006

Dear Brittney, I like your traveloging. I really enjoy the pictures you have taken...miss you, also. See you in February! Ir would be easier if you would make paragraphs. Love you

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb