Christmas Winter Wonderland in London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
November 24th 2008
Published: May 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A short flight from Alicante to London, and I was in freezing London being greeted by Josie and a delicious dinner cooked by Matt! I spent just over a week there, checking out all the Christmas lights, walking around the city and spending time with my cousins! I had a great time and enjoyed being understood by everyone...except for one funny event haha ↓

As Mario's and my Spanish is still very basic, communication in Spain is sometimes difficult and even if the people understand English, Mario still has to translate my native accent to his English so people can understand what I'm saying in English!! Anyway in London, Josie and I took a risky adventure by booking an appointment at the Vidal Sasoon Academy to have our hair cut by trainees. I didn't mind that we had to make a 3 hour appointment, I was just happy to have my hair cut by someone that I could communicate with! Anyway we rocked up saw a huge bunch of Japanese students outside the Academy...a few moments later, we realised that these students were going be be our hairdressers! Haha too funny! Of course, I have absolutely nothing against the Japanese, in fact, I love them, it was just incredibly ironic!
The students had only been in the UK for a few weeks and barely knew any English - they even had a translator. When the student that would be cutting our hair introduced themselves to us, they gave us a small gift from Japan, cute! Although our haircuts were quite average, we still had a fun/funny morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 84, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

My fav Japanese storeMy fav Japanese store
My fav Japanese store

It's funny because in Japan, the sign 'UNIQLO' is only in English
OkonomiyakiOkonomiyaki
Okonomiyaki

Lots of Japanese food in London, it was great!


Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 18; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.4mb