w/c 14.09.08


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 16th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunday 14th September 2008
Woke up just before noon, even though I tried to get up before. Well, by 'tried' I mean I thought when I went to bed that if I wake up earlier in the morning, I'll try to not go back to sleep. So basically I just woke up when I had enough sleep... Ended up playing squash after all, as when we rang up Oasis Sports Centre, they said there was a free 30 minute slot at 14:00 or a 60 minute slot at 14:00. So we booked a 30 minute slot at 14:30. We had a little to eat before we left, then made the hour trek into Tottenham Court Road to play some squash.

We arrived early so we got ready, strolled to the squash court and started a few minutes earlier than planned. Two of the courts were free, so we figured noone would mind. Considering last time we played we didn't know the rules properly, and after Alex having explained the serving rules to me (above the middle line, not between the bottom two!), we found it a helluva lot easier to play this time! And boy was I grand. Seriously, I was GOOOOOOD! My right forearm was getting tired though and when 15:00 came, the next batch of people were waiting so we finished our game (not that we were keeping score or even playing properly), and showered the worked-up sweat off.

On the way home, we decided to have some Korean food, but when we got to the restaurant, it was closed, as were the other 2 on the same road. Gues with it being 15:30 it's too late for lunch and too early for dinner. So we tried the Japanese restaurant above the Korean shop, but that was shut too. So we were about to buy some food to take home from the Korean shop, but then I suggested the Japan Centre, so we got a bus to Piccadilly and decided to eat before going to Mitsukoshi to try and find a wedding gift for my god-cousin or however she's related to my god-father. When we sat down and ordered our food/drinks, our free bowl of wasabi peas still hadn't arrived, so we had to ask the guy for it! Spicy. I tried the black cod - soooooo yum!!!!! BM got the crispy oyster set, which wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. All in all a good day so far.

After lunch we walked to Mitsukoshi, but when we got there it was closed 😞 They shut at 16:30 on Sundays - I totally forgot it was a Sunday, what with all my days running together from the lack of work! Oopsie. So we got the tube home, getting a bus from Edgware.

Monday 15th September 2008
After going to the gym 2 days in a row, it feels a bit weird not going today, but instead I arranged to meet Alex at Brent Cross Shopping Centre to buy a few small bits. Before that I researched a bit for eye tests and contacts, and decided that this time I'd get them both from Specsavers in Edgware, as it's just a walk from here. So I booked the test for Friday and hopefully my eyes won't have gotten so much worse that I need to buy new glasses - there's no way I can afford to get new ones now!

I walked up to Edgware station to get the bus to Edgware, as I have the option of 2 buses instead of 1 had I waited near home. On my way to the station, one of the buses past me 😞 So I got there and waited around 5 minutes before another 142 came. It was only just after noon, so I thought I'd get to Brent Cross on time for 12:30, but there seemed to be a bit of traffic on the way so I was a couple of minutes late. Not bad though. Met Alex outside Black's and we went in to check out the backpacks. There were a couple of decent ones - a 35l bag for GBP 49.99 and a 25l + 4l bag for GBP 39.99. Hmmmm, which one to go for... I left it in the end - I can check out some backpacks in town on Wednesday anyway, and maybe one of the shops will have a sale or something. We decided we'd eat before continuing our shop, so we got sarnies from M&S and sat on a comfy sofa where the fountain used to be. Then we headed back to M&S to buy some undies. We split up as men and women's stuff's on different floors, but Alex came back 2 minutes later because his were super expensive! I bought 1 item for GBP 18.00. EIGHTEEN QUID!! Shocking. We then went to John Lewis, as I wanted to check out the camera accessories. It was expensive. So I left.

Bobo was down for the day to go see Metallica with Cyntac so they were both at Cyntac's drinking before heading out later. So I decided to join them for a while, and Alex went home. The bus came as soon as we walked out, so things were going well so far. Cyntac called while I was in Cricklewood, and said he estimated it to be another 10 minutes, which made me think it wasn't too bad a journey. Turned out it took another half hour! That's Cyntac timing for you... When I finally arrived at North Acton station, I dropped into Tesco to buy the boys some beer and headed up to the flat. I totally forgot what floor he was on so I hit 8 at a guess and lo and behold - I was (unsurprisingly) right 😊

When I walked into the lounge, Bobo was playing Spore on the PC with Cyntac guiding him. Bobo looked like a hobo with his new facial hair. Turned out he'd been stopped by police earlier because they thought he looked like a terrorist - haha! We chilled there for a while, catching up with the news and watching Bobo's creation of the Mattysaurus get caned in his virtual world, all the while listening to the Kerrang Top 20. Most of the songs suck.

When it was time for them to trek it into Greenwich, I decided I'd take the tube as well and we all hopped on the Central line to Bond Street, where we changed onto the Jumbilee. Their train was pulling into the station as we arrived, so we said our quick goodbyes and I let a train go by as it stopped at Wembley Park. Got the next train a minute later though and finally made it home. It was nice to read The London Paper again for the first time in 7 months! I even took it home so I could do the puzzle page.

I was on my own for a while, as BM was at the gym til 20:00ish, so I decided to make a start on dinner and made a Japanese curry with beef. Alex said he was coming too so I put a new batch of rice on and eagerly awaited dinner time. People didn't come for ages. I finally decided I couldn't wait any longer and started to serve myself some food, and as I closed the rice steamer lid, BM walked in. So I waited for her to make the beef steaks and eventually started eating at gone 21:00. Alex still hadn't arrived and he wasn't online to ask. We finished eating and were saving Alex some steak, but he still hadn't arrived at 22:30 so we finished it. He finally came with Egypt in tow at gone 23:00. They both came in and had some tea, rice cakes, and grape sweets while we arranged the coming Saturday, and Egypt left at midnight. Guess some people still have to work... BM went to bed and Alex and I watched some TV until 01:00 then decided it was time for bed.

Tuesday 16th September 2008
I woke up just before 10:00, having a blueberry muller light for brekkie with tea and water and waited for Alex to get up, which he eventually did a good while later. I ended up having a bath because it was so cold, and was planning to go out, but Alex had started watching some wildlife programme on TV so he watched that while I did some general admin online. He fell asleep in front of the telly and didn't wake up til 15:30!

Wednesday 17th September 2008
Planned lunch with Josie in Westminster for 12:00, so not too much time to chill before having to get ready and go out. I arranged to meet her outside, so I waited just in front of the building for a few minutes, in which Tracey came out for a smoke. She said she didn't reply to my email because she lost everything when they changed her PC, and that I should email her again. Hard to believe so I don't think I'll bother with that email... Josie soon came out and we went next door where she offered to pay for my lunch. I tried to insist, but eventually I figured it was really nice of her and I could do with saving a few quid. I ended up getting the soup with brown bread and a flapjack. While we were eating, Alice, Nicky, and Antonia came down and recognised me. So I ended up chatting to them for a bit, doing the whole "hi, how are you, what have you been up to, etc..." and of course the age old "we'll have to do lunch - email me!". I figure if they really want to meet, they've got my address, so I'm waiting. Think I might be waiting a while... It was good to catch up with Josie, and all in all a good lunch :-)

Decided to have a gander at some backpacks in town and walked up Whitehall to Trafalgar Square and on to Southampton Street off Strand, where there are a few outdoor shops. Stopped in at Waterstones bookshop on the way and had a look-see at some books. Why not, didn't have anything else to do! Still couldn't bring myself round to buying all the books I want, so moved on. Popped into Jessops as well, but didn't get anything there either. When I finally made it to the outdoor shops, I realised that they're not as cheap as I thought! Shame really, but I think I knew deep down that I wasn't going to buy one today. Always the case when you actually look for something... Thought I'd try one last place in Piccadilly and headed to Cotswold Outdoors. I started walking down Regent Street, but had to call Alex to check the address, only to find that it was actually on Piccadilly. So found my way there and they were the most helpful. Narrowed it down to three - Macpac 35 (no idea which one), Berghaus Freeflow IV 25+5, and an Osprey one. All over budget, but I figured I'd try and find them cheaper online.

I wanted to have drinks with Stuart in the evening, but I hadn't heard anything back from him so ended up getting a couple of cakes from Cafe Concerto - a really nice cafe that sells awesome cakes - and headed home. I got a strawberry cream tart-esque thing, and a sponge and cream cake with white chocolate flakes on top. Can't wait to eat them!!

Thursday 18th September 2008
Nothing planned for today except dinner with Su and Gary at Pizza Express in Bond Street, so lots of time to chill and get ready. When I opened the fridge, I realised I forgot about the cakes I bought yesterday, so I decided that I'd eat them with BM after I got back from dinner.

Planned to meet the guys outside the restaurant at 19:00, and I arrived early but at the same time as Gary. So we chatted for a bit while waiting for Su and when it got to 19:15, we decided to get a drink from the pub next door. I was starting to think he wouldn't be turning up but alas he did - just as I finished my drink. So we went in and I had pizza for the first time in aaaaaages! I tried one of the new ones and it was HUGE. It had rocket, some kind of ham, and an egg. I like eggs on pizza. Yum. Gary ordered a salad, and when a different woman came with the food, she automatically gave me the salad. We put her straight tho. Gary's the one that needs it... :-p We shared a bottle of rose and ended up having desserts as well. Su said he was going to stick with his theory of copying me, because I always seem to pick the best desserts. Well the biggest anyway - it's all about quantity over quality when it comes to desserts with him. So I decided on the sundae and suggested we get one fudge and one chocolate and we can share. Gary said he might go for the banoffee pie, but then changed his mind when ordering. So Su changed his to the pie so that we could all share the different ones. When they arrived, the sundaes were huge and the pie was tiny!!! Poor Su - should've just stuck with his theory...

By the time I got home, I was pretty full so didn't really feel like eating the cakes, and they have to be appreciated because they're so good. So I figured they'd be ok the next day.

Friday 19th September 2008
I had an eye test booked at Specsavers for 12:45, so had to make sure I was up and ready in time. Difficult this whole not working and getting up whenever I want business... When I got there, it was pretty busy and I had to take a seat for a while before being seen to. Next to me was a mother here with her son, and they'd been waiting a while and the mother was getting antsy and fed up with waiting. They eventually realised that the boy needed a contact lens check and not an eye test as he'd told them when they arrived. So they went in, and I was apologised to a couple of times before finally being shown in. I quite like health checks - gives me an idea of how inferior my body really is. So fragile. So insignifant in the grand scheme of things. So I find them fun. I knew I was pretty blind but I thought that was just compared to Alex, who seems to have super vision! But when she asked me to read the letters out, I could only read the top line with my right eye and the second line with my left eye. :-( After the test, I was told that both my eyes are now the same weakness! Interesting... I then had to pick some frames, but couldn't find any that I liked. I thought about keeping the frames I have now, but I was advised to keep a spare pair. So I chose the frames that I disliked the least and then the lenses, totalling GBP 235 just for the glasses!! On top of that, the eye test cost GBP 22, and I'll have to buy contacts for over GBP 60 and have the contact lens check for GBP 25. All these expenses adding up...

Nicky said she'd pop by around 17:00, so I cleared all the junk off the table in the lounge and awaited her arrival. We tried to find a film to watch, but didn't really have much, so we sat outside for a bit while she smoked, and then sat and chatted for a while. She had to leave to go home for dinner, but not before taking all the chocolates and eating all the sweets. And I thought the house was safe because there was no baby veg...

Saturday 20th September 2008
Longness with the whole game night arrangements. Matt decided that we could have it at his in the end, so we went to Green Cottage for lunch as planned at 14:00, although it went from 7 people down to 3 - me, Alex, and Cyntac. It was yummy though, as always. First time I'd eaten Chinese in aaaaaages. That's the good thing about London I guess - you can get pretty much good anything you want. I got a wonton soup for starters and the mixed barbeque meats on rice for mains, and we all shared some Chinese broccoli. All washed down with some tea.

Matt joined us at Wetherspoons after lunch, and we all had a couple of drinks whilst Matt called Saj to ask what he did for a living and then proceeded to explain it to us. Securities. Then they talked about the stock market. At least I think that's what it was. It was finally time to move on to Matt's house, so we took the Met line to Northwick Park where Matt had parked earlier, to drive to his. We saw Emily going into the train station as we came out, and Alex teased him about her being with two guys. Hehe. On the way back to Matt's, we stopped by the supermarket, and picked up a bottle of vodka, coke, lemonade, chocolate, and a potato for the Japanese curry for dinner. As we got back, Matt set up the wii and made us a cuppa. Soon after, Milky and Moses arrived, and we started to make curry, drinking the vodka and munching the veg as we went along. As we were cooking in the kitchen, Matt's mum came back and she was in a FOUL mood!! Fair enough, as she'd had to spend hours waiting for a delivery man to arrive at a flat, who ended up coming a couple of hours after the window she was told. So she wasn't happy. And we all knew it. We left the curry to simmer for a while as we played some games on the wii - Milky and I wanted pictionary, but I think the boys wished Matt hadn't offered that option! While we were playing, Matt's mum went into the kitchen and closed the door, to which Matt said "do you think she's poisoning the curry?" - clearly as a joke, although there's always a little truth in every lie/joke/however the saying goes... The curry turned out to be really yummy, filled with veggie goodness and beef :o) By the time we finished eating, the vodka was finished, and we started playing on the wii again, as Matt made an irresistable offer to Moses - American Football! I didn't really understand the game, so I just waved my controller about and actually won the first game. I think. Then it went downhill after people tried to explain the rules. We continued to play games until M&M's cab arrived at 10:30 - life's a bitch when you live in Canary Wharf. Well long at least. I was going to catch the cab with them to Queensbury, but ended up staying at Matt's so that he could drive me home later once the alcohol left his body...

We ended up watching The Football Factory up in his room because it wouldn't work downstairs. We started on the Japanese snacks I'd brought round earlier, and halfway through I realised I'd already seen the film. After it was time for a tea break and then onto the second and last film of the night - Dead Silence. Turned out we could actually watch that film downstairs, so we stayed there instead of risking waking the beast upstairs. Matt had watched it before and was scared out of his boots because he watched it on his own. I would've probably been the same if I'd done that, but luckily I wasn't alone and it wasn't too bad. Film was ok - although didn't really get some of it, which I guess is just the type of film it is. Alex decided to stay at mine after, so that he could get a lift with me and not trek it all the way to Pinner at 3 in the morning, which would probably mean getting a cab or an extensive walk.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb