Day 9 - time for routines?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,

Well, the past few days have been quite busy! ON Saturday, we had a "lie in", otherwise known as sleeping in a bit. Once we were all up and about, Alex went off for his golf lesson. Dave likes to do the grocery shopping so I gave him my wishlist for baking and he did that while Alex was busy playing golf. Lynne, Rhiannon, Alex and I went to HIgh Barnet/The Spires to check out the shops there. I got a couple of new shoes, a black sweater and some little bits like a calendar. Lynne also drove me to a few of the local Baptist churches so I could get an idea of where they are, walking distances, etc. The weather was absolutely beautiful, the whole story of England having rain all the time is not exactly true. It only rained on Sunday and a little bit this morning. So, I now know where a lot of the shopping happens here, always a good thing in my au pair world! BIg smiles.

ON Sunday morning, I slept until around 9 am and got ready for church. I decided to go to the Underhill Baptist Church as it is the closest one to where we live. It was an African themed service with some ladies from Africa leading the music. It was quite a neat service and the people were very friendly. I met 4 young people that were just visiting the church as they attend other churches but participated in a local event together. So, I met Hannah, Chris, Nick and one other guy (I forgot his name). I am probably going to check out their churches and for sure, Nick's youth group on Monday night next week. It sounds like a great bunch of young people to spend time with. After the church service was done, they provided an African meal of miscellanous dishes - it was really neat to experience that! I met a few of the people that regularly attend the church, mostly on the middle aged and older range but super friendly. I am definately going to check it out later this month.

As Dave coaches Rugby games on Sundays, when Lynne is in the Middle East, I will be looking after RHiannon for the day. On those days, I will likely not be going to church, I just get the option for a different day off in leu. MOst churches have a night service as well so that could be an option too. After I got back home, I had a really nice long nap! I did not much of anything, just some reading, playing on the internet with the kids and then chatted on the phone.

ON MOnday, the family and I went to Thorpe Park, it's quite a decent amusement park here. It's the most expensive thing I have done here so far, £33 per person which is like $66 a person. The lineups were horrible, I managed to get on 5 rides for the whole day! It was still very fun though, I bought a Merlin pass which cost £125 for a one year membership to Thorpe Park, Legoland, Madame Taussauds (wax museum that is supposed to be really cool), all the sea world and acquarium type things and the London Eye. So, I am now set for all the tourist stuff. If I visit even like 5 places on the pass, I have saved money plus with having people come to visit while I am here in England, I can just keep going back for free to wherever I want!

My world here often feels like quite a blur because I do so much in just a little bit of time but anyhow, that;s most of the days so far. I am now getting kicked off the blog to play Webkinz, apparently it is time to feed the doggie - Daisy (Rhiannon's pet). Catch you later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb