London begins...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
November 28th 2007
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Guy ForkesGuy ForkesGuy Forkes

his hand shot sparks and set big ben on fire! brilliant!
I've made it and everything has worked out wonderfully.

I arrived safe but very tired and straight away was able to unpack in my own room in my new home. Its a great place and I live with 4 other lovely Brits. Although one girl is an old highschool friend (which is how I found the place) who has been living in London for the past 6 years so her accent is well and truly gone! The location is great. East London, home of the 'cockney' but its close to a tube station and getting to work and to the rest of London is really easy.

Towards the end of my first week I got in touch with a contact I had here from a few years ago and as it turned out they were looking for someone to replace a designer going on maternity leave. So I had an interview on the monday and got an offer on the spot! So, yes, I got a job! A real job, where I use my brain and a computer and have a desk and pens and things like that! Its been so long since my last 'real' job, I wasnt
FireworksFireworksFireworks

We had our own supply that we had fun with
sure how I would handle the routine. Especially after working nights for so long in Banff. But I am suprised to say I am loving it. Its really nice to work the week and have a weekend again.
The office is great, its a big architecture & design company and the people are really nice, about 100 all together with 40-ish on my floor - I obviously havent met everyone yet. Thankfully, I HAVE managed to find my design brain again, although the CAD will take a little longer to kick in. My first pay day is this Friday and after 6 weeks in London with no income, Im REALLY looking forward to it!

The sightseeing has been slow to take off. It feels different when you know you have so much time to see everything. It was strange at first to go from having so many friends and people around to knowing only a handful in the whole country!! But I have adapted...
The best thing was seeing Naomi, one of my best friends from highschool, who has been over here for almost 3 years. It was really great to catch up with her AND have a personal tour-guide of London. I also have 2 old work mates from Perth, and my sister and a week ago two work mates from Banff moved out here. Slowly the circle is growing.

The weather hasnt been too bad lately. Some mornings can be bitterly cold, but mostly its been cool or mild. Altough its pitch black by 4.30pm which is not fun. That is taking a bit of getting used to.
London really is a big, dirty, grey city but I have been pleasantly suprised by the amount of 'green space' and parks around. We have a lovely park, Victoria, about 15mins walk from us.
Cost of living IS expensive but chocolate doesnt seem too bad so I am happy about that 😊
Im getting geared up for another cold Chrissy, away from family which is sad but I am going to make the most of having Carol(sister) here and probablly get together all the other stragglers for an orphans christmas. So think of us when you are all out in the sunshine eating your seafood and enjoying the beach etc

And that is the story so far. Verdict = ALL GOOD!

Sorry to anyone who has
Guy Forkes nightGuy Forkes nightGuy Forkes night

watching our work... from a safe distance
heard all this already but you didnt HAVE to read this far down...
Its always great to hear from everyone, so drop me a line sometime and let me know what's happening with you and with beautiful Perth.
As for me, there will be plenty more emails, photos and stories to come, Im sure!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Carol's new friendCarol's new friend
Carol's new friend

Dirty squirrel sneezed on Carol. She was so happy...
Me and trees...Me and trees...
Me and trees...

ruining the scenery
Carol and trees...Carol and trees...
Carol and trees...

also ruining the scenery
Canadians!!!Canadians!!!
Canadians!!!

my old work mates, Hugo and Spin


Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb