"Go you gooners!"...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 28th 2007
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Official club supporters, ahemOfficial club supporters, ahemOfficial club supporters, ahem

Sorry Ryan, I don't have any plans to switch any time soon...
My first football experience couldn't have been much better really. (Okay so it wasn't watching my boys Chelsea, but it was very impressive nonetheless).

It tied in with my birthday the day prior, for which Joel and I headed out for Thai at the local restaurant and then on to Chiswick for some drinks. He spoilt me with tickets to the Kings of Leon gig at Wembley and some funky speakers for my laptop, which are about the size of your palm and ultra bassy. (Anyone who knows me knows I can't live without my music...and it has to be loud!)

Ready for some football action the next morning, the flatties and I headed to Arsenal's brand new stadium to watch the Emirates Cup. Luckily my flatmate Puds had a ticket hook-up for the inaugural pre-season tournament, as it was a sell-out. It was quite surreal watching some of the biggest names in the game, plus we got to see two matches - bonus!

First up Valencia beat Inter-Milan 2-0, then the Gunners proved their home turf was too much for Paris Saint-German, defeating them 2-1, and eventually going on to win the tournament on Sunday. Unlike NZ you can't get mind-blown drunk inside sports stadiums, so in between matches we hung out underneath the stands like hardcore fans with pints and pies, discussing game tactics. 😉




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb