London Bridg


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 25th 2007
Published: October 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

London Bridg

After a pretty exhausting plane trip, I was not up for another 2hr line up to get through immigration - Yuk! I landed at 6.30am and didn’t get out till 8.30am, which meant the drive into town was slow going in peak hour traffic…but it was all worth it. It was a beautiful day in London so after a wash and some real food I hit the sheets for a 4 hour nap because tonight I was going out!

We went to LaCave, a lovely alfresco bar just under London Bridge. The perfect first night out in London. I reacquainted myself with old friends and met some new ones. Had some bubbles and a fantastic cheese plate. Everyone was saying how lucky I was to land today as it was the first lovely night they’d had in a very long time.

Daniela arrived early the next morning soo excited to be with us all and looking forward to the party on Friday night. It was another lovely day so we put on our joggers and went for a walk along the Thames - so many aahh spots.

After the exercise it was time to dress up and hit the shops - so on the tube we go to Kensington. Met up with Lexi (neighbour from Sydney) for a coffer - there’s something about meeting with friends in another country.

It’s a bit of a frenzy - 3 chicks darting in and out of shops, giggling, shopping - heaps of fun. Lexi leaves us to meet up with another friend so we head to Knightsbridge - ahh, the walk is grand. Past Hyde park, past Harrods, past the fashion on the streets.

Tonight we’re off to Blue Print café - above the Design museum. We’ve booked a table for 7. What a spectacular view! The Tower Bridge, the Thames, Canary Wharf, we were spoilt for things to look at, and then the food came out…crab cakes, beetroot salads, terrine, soup, fish, lamb and the best thing is…it all goes with champagne ;o)

Friday we are all flat out. There’s a big party at the apartment tonight - Cathy and Danny’s annual summer cocktail party. We’ve got soo much to do. Down to Borough markets to pick up breads, cheeses, sweets, fruits, meats, olives - everything. Then back to organize all the food platters, re-arrange the living area, make up some drinks then let the fun begin.

It started nice and slowely - introductions, sipping on cocktails, more introductions, a few champagnes, music getting louder, some food, heaps of people, photos, more cocktails and a bit more food, giggling, dancing, another champagne, more dancing, getting cheeky now, more photos, dancing and singing, live DJ, groupies, still more dancing and singing, yes please another cocktail, dancing, giggling, photos…oh ooh, is that the sunrise? Farewells, taxi, champagne, sit down chats, champagne, photos, chat, photos, ahhh sleep! What a great party!!!

When it’s time to get out n about again we decide to have brunch at All Bar One on the river, in the sun. Eggs benedict, a bloody mary & coffee - perfect. Then Daniela and I are off to Spittlefield markets, it’s so glorious, we have A-Z in hand and the coffee is kicking in, but.. they’re renovating the old hall so most of the market area is closed. We do a bit of pottering then get the call that Steve has set up his piano and is busking at Tower Bridge (he had a bet with his brother that he could raise some money for charity). We’re off to catch the action and get there in time for some bubbles. What a lovely way to spend a leisurely afternoon in the sun, listening to classical piano. He raised the 25 pounds needed - a success! We managed to convince him to carry on with the festivities (not hard to do as he was pumped with adrenalin) so we grabbed Danny’s 606 Jazz club membership card and headed into Chelsea. In hindsight, not the best thing to do. They take their jazz very seriously there, no talking please. We are all happy on champagne so ended up communication via text, throughout the evening. Turns out this jazz club doesn’t even like texting either…so we leave! Another fabulous fabulous day! Priceless even.

Oh my head - I can’t believe how much champagne we drank yesterday - so Daniela and I are in search of food. We don’t go far, just downstairs, on the water is ChopHouse. They have a 2 course lunch menu for 12 pound so we’re in. No alcohol today, just water, but the food is perfect. The beetroot salad with gorgonzola and walnuts was great then the fish with beans and potatoes just topped it off. We walked out of there full and feeling much better, so… off to Oxford street we go.

The end of summer sales are on so there are some bargains to be had. Back into frenzy mode we go. Darting, weaving, try on, take-off, fashion show, take-off, got some purchases and now we’re absolutely beat, home now for a very quiet night.

Amazing what a good nights sleep can do, feeling great this morning so up we get and head out for a power walk up the river. We’re so very lucky to be staying here, it’s such a beautiful part of London. Past the Tower Bridge, past London Bridge, further up is the Tate Modern, then the OXO Tower, across is St Pauls Cathedral, visually it’s beautiful.

Get back, get ready and out again, we started walking, then kept walking and before we knew it we were at Trafalgar Square, what a hoot! Popped into the National Gallery café for a bit of lunch then went upstairs to find Vincent Van Goegh, Picasso, Matisse and Pollock, they’re all there, and they’re all amazing. We were just starting to feel a bit tired from all the walking when the phone rings. It’s Candice, a friend of Daniela’s from Singapore, she was in town so we’re meeting her at OXO Tower for a dink. Fantastic views from the 8th floor, yummy cocktails and my new favourite champagne is Billecarte Salmon. We’ve decided to go out and paint the town red tonight so home first to change and eat then we’re off again. The first club we tried had a huge line up (on a Tuesday night?) so after a quick chat with the bouncer we’re back in a cab and heading to the Funky Buddha. Lucky they dropped the 20 pound cover to 10 for us coz it wasn’t our seen. Packed and RNB with breaks but full of people that wanted to be watched so off we go again, this time China White. Yippee, let’s dance. Good club, nice people and heaps of dancing.

The next day we went to a wine tasting - Zoran, is Croatian and importing French wines that we are lucky enough to be invited to. So there we were, a little tired, slightly hung over so we started slow, then the giggling started but we had to go. We had a dinner date with the lovely Gary and some of his friends at Roast. It’s right above Borough Markets and quite posh. The specialty is slow cooked pork belly so most of us ordered that, ahh just melted in your mouth.

Funny how things happen. I was sitting next to Carolyn at dinner and mentioned that I was off traveling in the hopes that I could start a career as a travel writer and photographer, she mentioned one of her closest friends writes reviews on holiday destinations for corporate, so she is happy to introduce me when I get back from my travels at the end of the year….woohoo!

Another great meal down and we’re off on the tube to se Barbara Streisand in concert! Wow - it was a fabulous concert. We had great seats, she was amazing. Her voice was exactly the same as on cd. She looked absolutely fabulous and the sparkly jewels…of course they’re real. Some parts of the concert moved people to tears, others jumped out of their seats - What a night!!! Thank you Gary!!!!!

Woke up late but still on a high from last night and today I have a lunch date with Bec (a girlfriend from Sydney), so we’re off to Dim T - I really like it here. It’s the local for both of us, asian food and really fresh. 2 glasses of wine ensures for a fantastic catch up but she has to go back to work so I head home and start to get ready for tonight….

Daniela has a date with Russell but didn’t want to go by herself so she invited me to come along too. Sounds weird but it was ok. We met him at Refuel, the bar at Soho Hotel, had a quick cocktail but then decided to leave coz it was to packed. He then suggested an Asian restaurant in Camden called Gilgamesh - it was fabulous! Heaps of tasting plates (too may actually) and Daniela wanted to order the drinks so we left it with her. The sake she ordered was v.nice but we didn’t know until the bill came that it was actually 135 pounds per bottle and we’d had 2 bottles….Outrageous!!!

Friday saw me running around town. Can’t believe I left the power cord and Ac adapter for my laptop at home - how frustrating. After that I head into Borough markets, Daniela and I are going to cook up a storm tomorrow as a thank you to Cathy, Gary & Steve so I need fresh produce for the monster brunch.

Got home just in time to get ready for another fun night out. First it was Pont du la Tour to meet Gary and friends. Then Cathy had organized a table at Milk & Honey - (a private bar) for cocktails. That’s where we meet up with Simone, Tony & the rest of the crew.

Then we were off to Vasco & Piero for dinner. Wow, fabulous italian restaurant. The staff were fantastic, the company couldn’t be better and the food…up there with the best Italian. In between courses Piero gave us all a tasting plate of his spinach and ricotta ravioli - sensational - it just melted in your mouth.

We were the last to leave the restaurant and all of us had sore cheeks and bellies from laughing so much. One of the other tables actually commented that we were clearly NOT English, because of all the fun we were having.

All that food, now time to dance, so off to Players we went for more champagne and more shenanigans. Great music, great company, what a great time we were having. Dancing and laughing and taking heaps of fun photos. Then the bar closed so off we went to Floriditas, a fantastic salsa bar just around the corner. The minute we got there we were snatched up and swung (salsa style) onto the dance floor and yes please a Mojito would be lovely. Not sure where I found these feet but they can dance, swing, twirl and stomp.

Well, the storm Daniela and I were going to cook up as a thank you, umm didn’t happen. We booked a table at ChopHouse instead. So much easier when heads are a little tender. Flapjacks with maple syrup, full cooked breakie, coffee, tea and bloody mary’s all round. Then back home for a little nap before we have to get ready to go out - AGAIN.

Tonight is cocktails with Amy & Roisin at the Light bar in St Martins Lane. A funky bar with just the best cocktail list and great bar snacks then we head across the road to see Orlando Bloom in ‘In Celebration”. Pretty heavy play actually, full of family secrets and baggage yet to be uncovered and as for the perv factor with Orlando, well he played an introverted brown cardigan wearing, mustached nerd. The best part was at intermission when Keirstan Dunst stood next to me to have her cigarette.

Supper after was booked at J.Sheeky, they’re renowned for their fish here so we all ordered up coz tomorrow was going to be a big day!.

The Cartier Cup Polo is on and we’re all frocked up and ready to go! The lads have their finest white linen jackets on and the chicks are looking mighty fine. Thankfully the weather has cleared up so everyone is excited. The bus trip out is lovely - through the woods, and onto the grounds and we get to the members marquee just as they’re serving lunch. We have two tables of new and old friends and the ‘Pink Pommery’ is flowing.

After lunch we head to the field to find our seats, what a great game. Chile v England shame England lost.

Half time was fun, out on the field to stomp the diverts. There’s some characters out today. One guy had false side burns, another was head to woe in white, the brass band even went marching on and the eye candy…how is a girl to handle all this?

Back to our seats for the 2nd half, everyone’s looking pretty happy by this stage. I think that’s when the cheekiness began. There was that comment to the Bishop….he said he liked my frock - Purple was the colour he wore daily, being a Bishop and all. I told him he’d love my knickers too then. Lucky he saw the funny side.

There’s photos of Amy and I playing up to the brass band and countless photos of me and hot guys.

It’s all getting rather messy so back to the marquee for champagne and afternoon tea before we head to the Smyle after party.

Entertainers everywhere, fairies on stilts, men on giant emu’s, the bands, including Shape Shifters, heaps of dancing, more champagne, business cards being exchanged, phone numbers handed out. Back down the front to dance some more. Dj’s, dancers, the crowd went wild! Then, sadly it was time to board the bus for the journey home.

What a fantastic day, we’re all tired and needing sleep. I wonder what will come of all this….

Monday I’m out of bed and on a power walk, figure I’ve got to try to get some sort of health bits in amongst all this, so up the river I go.

When I get back there’s just enough time to shower, change and head up to the tapas bar for bunch with the chicks. We ordered up large, just keep bringing out the food.

I needed it coz I had a bit of running around to do before Tiffany’s birthday party tonight. There were balloons, banners, candles, cakes, cards and presents to address and wrap. Then up to the Kings Arms before Gary bought her up for the SURPRISE!

Everyone was pretty tired but Burgers and Bollinger must have done something coz we came 2nd in the quiz. Happy Birthday Tiffany.

Today is Daniela’s last day in London so while she is packing I’m doing my power walk up to the London Eye and back. Takes 1 ½ hours and is just so beautiful. When I get back Daniela wants to do some last minute shopping so we bolt up to Oxford street on the tube and race. Then head back and say our good byes :o(

W all have to pack coz Thursday the 3 of us move to Gary’s place. Cathy and Danny’s have bought a new apartment but it needs to be renovated first.

Wednesday is the beginning of the move. The movers come in to pack while Danny and I take over their belongings to Gary’s. It’s only around the corner, how hard can it be…YUK!

I’ve got a date with Bec, my girlfriend from Sydney so it’s a lovely break from all the moving.

We thought it would be fitting to go to ‘The Hornimans’ pub, just around the corner. Fabulous, fabulous. It’s right on the water and such a lovely night so we grab our bottle of wine and sit outside.

There’s so much to catch up on. Turns out she works 100m from where I’m staying so I can see there will be a few ‘catch ups’ after work.

On the way home it’s a quick ‘pop in’ to Steve’s, it is his birthday tomorrow so it’d be rude not to really.

It’s Frisky Friday and the move is done so I’m up and out power walking along the river to the London eye again. This time I’ve managed to wipe 20 mins off my time - a new PB - woohoo! Cathy and I discover a quaint French restaurant in our area so hit it for lunch. Mmmm Frois guar as a started followed by slow cooked lamb shoulder, washed down with a lovely NZ Semillon - just lovely.

I’m heading to Streatham to hang out with Dave, Julz and Shae so pack an overnighter and jump on the tube. I’m loving the tube at the moment, so quick and easy to get around (obviously I haven’t been sandwiched in on one yet).

Ahh .. great to see my friends again and just hang out with them. We went up to a newly renovated pub for dinner, great food and easy to take Shae then just headed home to hang out.

Up on Saturday and had yummy cooked breaky in their garden, with the sun shining, then Julz and I jumped on the bus and headed to the Tate Modern. She hasn’t walked the riverside walk for years so we get the camera out and snap off some shots.

The Tate Modern is great, Picasso, Pollock and Matisse all hang out there. Great building too (converted power station). It was a fabulous day so we stop at the Founders Arms and enjoy a glass of bubbles in the sun.

I can’t stay too long coz I’ve got to get home to pack for Scotland, before my date tonight.

I met Steve at the polo last Sunday but I’m a bit worried coz I met heaps of people there, so can’t really remember what he looks like. I’m pretty sure he’s the tall blonde Swedish guy I met towards the end of the evening.

Because I’m not really sure what he looks like I’ve arranged for him to meet me at Gary’s for champagne first. Well, I’m so glad I did that, coz when I opened the door I was very surprised to see that he was not the tall blonde I was thinking but actually a west Indian that I don’t even remember meeting and I’m sure I actually jumped when I opened the door and saw him standing there. What is a girl to do? So I decided to open the champagne and just get on with this date. Turns out he’s a lovely guy.

We went to Blue Print for dinner and had a lovely meal, great conversation and pink champagne. Then we strolled up to the Hornimans for a roadie. Every now and then though I’d let out a little giggle at the thought of the tall blonde guy I thought I’d be sitting next to. Hehe.

Wow, all that in my first 2 ½ weeks in London….can’t wait for my next adventure in Scotland. I’m off tomorrow…..bring it on! xx






Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb