a day in london


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 24th 2005
Published: September 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Look RightLook RightLook Right

The whole time I was in London I was sure I was going to be hit by a car...the idea of driving on the left side of the road is incredibly confusing to me. Luckily, though, the Brits have kindly though to paint "look right" and "look left" on all pedestrian intersections. You can see this in the picture above.
I arrived at London Heathrow at 8AM on Wednesday, Sept. 21. I was very tired as I can never sleep on long flights, but I managed to get my huge suitcases checked into the baggage service there so I could head into the city.

I stayed at a hostel around King's Cross station. I went there first to drop my backpack off, then I headed to Southwark to check out the Tate Modern Museum. The architecture in this building was really amazing...I loved the museum; especially the Gerard Richter and Andy Warhol collections.

After I finished at the Tate, I wandered outside to the River Thames and watched boats and people. There is a lovely little lawn in front of the museum that looks out at this river. I sat down to read, and after a while, I decided to take a little nap outside in the sunshine. This attracted more than a few stares and weird looks from proper British people...I guess sleeping outside isn't the custom there.

After that, I walked along Thames and saw Shakespeare's Globe. Unfortunately I could not go inside because they were preparing for a play.

I had enough of that part of town, so I took the tube to Piccadilly Circus on my father's recommendation. There were lots of people and shops; however, I wasn't interested in shopping for things in British pounds. The dollar - pound ratio is currently 2-1, so even though I spent only one day in the UK, it was still quite costly.

I was so tired that I decided to go back to my hostel and sleep early, but not before I ordered a sandwich for dinner. I am used to the phenomenon of butter on sandwiches. In fact, I even enjoy that on certain sandwiches...brie, or ham for example. But my experience in England was that they put margarine, not butter, on the sandwiches, and they put it on all sandwiches, even my tuna sandwich I had for dinner! I am not a fan!

All in all, I have to say I didn't care too much for London. It was a very sooty city - when I blew my nose, the kleenex turned black! Also I thought the Brits were a tad bit snooty, even compared to the French. I realize, though, that I was extremely tired when I was in London,
River ThamesRiver ThamesRiver Thames

A view from inside the Tate Modern.
so I have promised to give it another go in January when my best friend visits. I might also go to Oxford so I can visit the countryside and an acquaintance...we'll see.

For now, I am safely and happily installed in Paris, right on the edge of the Seine. An entry about my living situation and experience thus far is coming soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

a pretty bridgea pretty bridge
a pretty bridge

I like the color red.
Piccadilly CircusPiccadilly Circus
Piccadilly Circus

Kind of like a smaller version of Times Square.


13th October 2005

Mind the Gap
Yes, the black snot is alarming and September-April is more than a little bleak. The English countryside is beautiful though, and Oxford is completely enchanting and scholarly --highly recommended. I've really enjoyed all the stories and photos, so keep them coming! Good luck!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb