London, England - Day Seven


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Tower of LondonThe Tower of LondonThe Tower of London

This is the wing that the Crown Jewels are kept in.

September 26, 2006



Headed to the Tower of London this morning and had a charming yeoman warden from the British Army give us a tour. We them headed to the crown jewels - so amazing! The history of the Tower dates back to 1100 A.D. so the long lineage of death and war there is amazing. Saw some suits of armor - really cool!

Then we walked over to Tower Bridge and took some pictures before moving on to the spectacular St. Paul's Cathedral. I have never seen anything so beautiful in my whole life. So crazy that Princess Diana got married there.

Then we ate a quick dinner at Earl's Court Tavern. I ordered an Indian dish called Chicken Tikka Marsala. It was a spicy red sauce with chutney and some other items with white rice and some tortilla-like things that were a lot different than anything I've ever had, but I loved them! Ordered my first (and not my last) shandy - loved it!

After dinner we enjoyed an amazing night at the West End where we saw "Wicked" at the Apollo Victoria Theatre. So awesome! Best show I've ever seen. Humorous, glamorous, great music, and fantastic costumes. Had a marvelous time!

Off to Windsor tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 16; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb