Lists!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 11th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

5th September 2007
My house is awash with lists.
Things to do, to buy, to plan, to organise, to research, to delegate - so that I can go round the world for seven months, and leave the house running efficiently, or at least not be flooded, burned, burgled or demolished when I return.
I researched health issues until I frightened myself, and decided to be guided by my GP instead, although in the long discussion about anti- malaria pills she didn’t mention that the island of Lombok in Indonesia has mosquitoes that carry a strain of malaria resistant to all but the most expensive prophylactics.
Repellent, mosquito nets and citronella oil will just have to be enough.
I’ve packed a first aid kit according to the Rough Guide First Time Around the World, and very comprehensive it is too, though I’ve left out laxatives and motion sickness pills, substituting Canesten and Bonjela and I’ve not bothered with a thermometer. I can tell when I’ve got a temperature, for Heaven’s sake.
I’ve got preventatives, prophylactics and palliatives for anything that may befall me, and I think I have the requisite fitness to carry it all, or if not, I have muscle rubs and strapping to deal with the aftermath of the exercise.
And my sponge bag is even heavier. Do I really need lotions and potions that are the equivalent weight of two and a half bags of sugar?
Next job will be packing and weighing to see if I can get everything in the backpack, and can lift it.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.35s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb