My favorite London sights - the shops!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
September 10th 2005
Published: September 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Ian and I headed into London today to hit our last few tourist sights before I leave tomorrow. We first took the tube over to Abbey Road. It was basically just a normal cross walk. There was an "Abbey Road" sign next to it where people had signed their names. Also, the Abbey Rd. studios were across the street where the Beatles had done some recording.

Afterwards we headed over to meet my friend Zacahary who just moved to London at the end of July. Zacahary left San Francisco with a partial plan, and I have to say ended up on his feet. He is house sitting for someone through work in Notting Hill and has a cleaning lady who comes twice a week. Nice! Ian, Zachary, and I headed out to the Portobello market in Nottinghill to browse and catch some lunch. The market was so cool. You could buy anything you wanted there. I was particularly tempted by the jewlery and flowy skirts, but the terrible US dollar to British pound conversion rate kept me from buying.

In the afternoon Ian and I went to Harrods, possibly the biggest department store I´ve ever been in, which is saying a lot. Seriously, it was like its own city. The rooms went on forever and the whole plac was decorated in an Egyptian theme. I felt like I was in Las Vegas. Needless to say, I couldn´t afford anything here either.

Needing a bit of a pick me up, I spotted a place to sit down for a traditional British cream tea. It was my first, and I loved it. Cream tea is basically regular black tea with scones served with strawberry jam and clotted cream. Clotted cream is just sweet creamy butter that you put on the scone. It was so good! I could feel my arteries closing.

To end of the night Ian and I went to see the "Forty Year Old Virgin". Ian was a bit skeptical, but as soon as the scene where they waxed the guy´s chest hair came on, he was laughing out loud. It was very funny 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb