London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 29th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys!

I have just arrived in old London town and let me say... wow, this place is huge. Its the most bustling place I've ever been. Simply awesome.

I'll start with... the flight over really bites. 26 hours of travel including the 6 hours in Bangkok airport. It was kinda ok cause I met some people and we chilled out at a local Thai joint (and Burger King... how terrible) for the most part. The airport there is quite new and is amazing. Its kinda hard to explain but I'll post some photos on my blog site when i get a chance. I met my first 'single serving' friend (kudos to those who get that...) on the last leg over, an Aussie from Brisbane who has spent the last 6 months trekking Asia... after speaking with him... I have to go. Maybe next trip.

My London welcome has been a bit shaky i must say... There was an attempted terrorist attack 2 streets from where I'm staying last night at 1:30am and we were only a block away having a few quiet beverages. The bomber paniced and left a van with 3 gas tanks and a trunk full of nails (cluster bomb) next to a night club. Details are sketchy here at the moment, Quote from news.com.au "Expert says al-Qaeda not be ruled out " and security is very high on all transport in the city but they are on the hunt for the driver.

On a lighter note, spent the day walking around with a few people from my dorm room, have seen Big Ben, River Thames (spelling), Shakespeare's Theatre & my most fav, St Paul's Cathedral. The place is so so wonderful. If you've seen it you'll know what i mean when I say I was awed by its brilliance.

The weather is all over the shop. Who ever controls it here is on some crazy drugs cause it was hot and sunny for about 2 hours then cold and raining for 20 mins (terribly rainy) and now its blo0dy hot again...

Hope your all doing swell, *(I am 😊 )* and I'll be sure to send more mail soon.

Take Care.
...Jay

p.s. Oh and remember... Chuck Norris can talk about Fight Club! 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb