London Day One


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

London, here we come, baby!



London, here we come, baby!
Amanda

Airport Disaster

(RAIN)

We started the day by “trying” to get to the airport. I say, “trying” because we took this really fast train from the Stockholm Central Station to the Arlanda airport. The train seriously went 200 km/hr. We got to the airport 3 hours early and then realized that we needed to go to the other airport across town. I'd be lying if I said this was the first time my sister has done this "go to the wrong airport" thing. It was 1.5 hours away and would have cost us 1500 kr to drive there. We tried to figure out what to do but we ended up just taking the next plane from Arlanda to Heathrow Airport for about 1.5 million US dollars. Needless to say, Michelle was not so happy. We didn’t know if there would be food on the plane so we got some sandwiches and ate them before we got on. We were put in this almost business class section where they gave us tons of food and drinks for free. Since our tickets were so expensive but I had already eaten I felt it was justified for me to take the food and drinks I had not consumed with me off the plane. Yes, the roast beef and potato salad. I put them in Michelle’s bag. Michelle and the guy sitting next to me kept laughing at me. About 20 minutes into the flight I had the worst sneezing fit I’ve ever had. I had to ice down my nose to get it to stop.

Once we got to the airport, Michelle threw my food away because it had leaked in her bag. Oops! Customs took about one hour to get through and in London you must have an address of where you will be staying listed on your immigration forms or they get very upset. We met this really nice guy at the train ticket counter who helped us figure out where to go and suggested places for us to see. He told us to go to King’s Cross train station to find the platform 9 ¾. He kept telling us to go to this place called Nando’s for chicken. We took the “tube” for about an hour to get to our hostel and Carissa was there waiting for us!

The hostel looked exactly like what I imagined it would be. We took a walk down by the river and only after I saw Big Ben did I realized we were in London! We walked around the theatre district for a while and tried to find the Temple church, you know, from The DaVinci Code, but we couldn’t. We ended up running into this group of law school kids from the East Coast. This girl, Courtney, who had a British mum, tried to help us find the Temple Church but it was closed. She invited us back to her law school party which was held in this bar that we otherwise wouldn’t be allowed in because it has a membership requirement. We drank a glass of wine and chatted.

Michelle’s bonus points: 1, potatoes
Amanda’s near death experiences: 1, almost hit by car


Advertisement



14th February 2008

You didn't mention how nasty that food smelled which made my bag smell as well.

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb