Tour de France & Wimbledon


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 11th 2007
Published: July 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tour de France & Wimbledon

 Europe » United Kingdom » England » London By clarkey
July 11th 2007
Brian Clarke
Wow! What an amazing weekend of sport.

Living in London can get you down some times, but it's weekends like this that make you realise that you really are living in one of the greatest cities in the planet.

To see both the Tour de France and Wimbledon on the same weekend was just amazing!

This was the first time that London had hosted Le Grand Depart and I attended all 3 days - the opening ceremony on Friday night, the Prologue on Saturday and Stage 1 on Sunday morning.

I have completed (utterly exhausted) a few 200km rides in Melbourne and it never ceases to amaze me how fit the cyclists in the Tour are. Forget about winning, just completing the damn thing requires a superhuman effort! I have the utmost respect for these blokes.

On Sunday afternoon I went out to Wimbledon and watched the Federer v Nadal final, and of course I had to try the traditional strawberries and cream. Fantasic match, which Federer won in 5 sets, equalling Borg's record of 5 consecutive Wimbledons.

Yes, London is not so bad some times...





Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



11th July 2007

Permission
Hi, I am from Bangalore Mirror, a tabloid belonging to Times of India Group. I found your blog interesting and wanted to know if I could use it in a section called 'Blogger's Park,' where we post blogs of international relevance. Please mail me your permission to nt.balanarayan at gmail.com, if you are OK with me using it Thanking you, Balanarayan

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb