Pit Stop?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

June 22 @ 10:09 p.m.

London, what a cool place. In my honest opinion, it resembles Seoul in so many ways. The subway system, the way there are no frekn’ street name signs, the smell, the weather, the cigarette smoke, how the light switch is outside of the bathroom... So I’ll tell you how I got here, I arrived around noon local time, something like 3 a.m. LA time. I was tired, but the flight wasn’t too bad, but I was worried that I met get sick because the girl next to me was coughing. I knew I should’ve taken an airborne before I got on. Needless to say, I took it as soon as I got off. My first purchase was a bottle of water: .90 pounds. That’s roughly $1.80. Ridiculous, huh? Everything here is expensive (not similar to Seoul). Alcohol is a rip off, but I had a glass of Extra Cold Guinness at a pub, and boy was that delicious. However, I still will not understand the fascination with warm beer. Mike and I went to the supermarket, and they had all their beer on a rack right next to the Southern Comforts and Smirnoff Vodka’s; disgusting.
I had so much trouble buying a rail pass at first using my debit and credit cards (even though I called my credit card companies beforehand to let them know that I’d be travelling), but once I did, it was so easy to figure out how the rail system works. I had to buy another ticket, 5.15 £ (you can pretty much double the # to convert it into U.S. Dollars), but I used it to its fullest potential. I saw everything today! Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and Tower Bridge. And plenty of cute girls; the girls here are more well dressed than in the states… well, even the guys. Seeing a person in a suit is no biggie. Wanna know what I don’t like about London? The weather. It’s gloomy, it’ll rain 3 different times in a day, but you’ll never get wet/drenched.

Mike and I went to a pub; I ordered a burger and he got Fish and Chips. Have you heard of that stereotype of how English food sucks? Well, it kinda does, but what makes it taste bad is knowing that you paid $12 for a burger. But you know what was so worth it? The Guinness Draught Extra Cold that I mentioned earlier. No joke, that’s what it’s called! It’s the best drink I’ve had on this trip, but, then again, I’ve only been here for a day.

That’s it for now. Check out the photos. And leave me a comment/message.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Tower outside Buckingham PalaceTower outside Buckingham Palace
Tower outside Buckingham Palace

Look at the clouds. I didn't realize it at first, but it's like God's spreading them apart.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb