First Days- June 12th and 13th


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 13th 2007
Published: June 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today will be my second full day in London. Its been such a busy past few days. Tuesday night my dad and mom drove me up to Phoenix so that I could catch my direct flight into London Heathrow. The plane was amazing! I have never seen such a big plane in my life. Our flight took off at 9:00pm Phoenix time so we flew all night. I thought that I would be able to get some sleep but I ended up sleeping about 30 minutes the entire flight.

We got to Heathrow at about 2:30pm London time. We had a fairly easy time going through the airport with our baggage claim and customs. There were 4 other girls on this flight so it was nice to have other people to travel with. We took the tube into London next. We first needed to pick up the keys to our flat and go check in. We had an insanely hard time finding the place to pick up our keys and proceeded to walk around London for probably about an hour and a half trying to find the place. We asked directions at about 7 different places and everybody seemed to have a different theory about getting to our destination. Picture 5 girls, each with 2 huge suitcases, holding maps, wheeling around London for almost 2 hours... yeah we were pretty much the ultimate tourists.

Later on we found our flat and tried to get settled in. The rest of the program had been waiting for our arrival. By the time we got there we were stressed, exhausted and felt disgusting!

Our flat is at the very top of our building. We have to climb a good 8 flights of stairs to get to our room which was a ton of fun when the luggage lift stopped 2 floors short of our room. I was initially worried about not being able to work out but after lugging around our bags and climbing the stairs every time we need something upstairs, I figure we will all be in pretty decent shape by the end of summer.

Our flat is crazy; it pretty much like a way downscaled real world house. We have 5 girls in our room. We each have a little tiny bed, night stand and dresser. I still haven’t been able to unpack. We’ve been on the go constantly since we have been here. The boys live in our flat right across the hall. We share the kitchen and have two bathrooms. Our one shower was broken for a couple of days so we had to share 1 shower between 8 people.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb