The Rules of London's Underground


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 29th 2007
Published: May 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ladies and Gentlemen - The TubeLadies and Gentlemen - The TubeLadies and Gentlemen - The Tube

I heart the tube. It was lotsa fun! After arriving into Heathrow, Hue and his friend showed me into town. Thirty minutes later, I was at Russel Square and found The Royal National no problem. They say that people in London are rude & unfriendly? Umm, can't say I share the same experience. Since I decided to stay a day longer in Dahab, my arrival into London was a day late. Contiki gave me some grief about the hotel booking but other than that I was on my way. Renee (not Canadian Renee) was talking on her phone in the hall way as I walked in. Such a sweetheart. Dropped my bags and made a dash for Buckingham Palace and then to Trafalgar and Leicester Square. If I was tired leaving Egypt, I was absolutely beat at this point.But *gasp* must...*choke* see...the...palace...
Never stop walking!!

Lol, so guys 1.35pm London time I arrived at Heathrow Intl. The flight out of Cairo went well. Met Hue that was incidentally on another overland tour from Jordan to Cairo. The sworn enemy of Oasis...and apparently according to them Oasis is shite. Ughh...we hate you too. If I had rocks in my hand I'd throw them. Oasis rocks. No pun intended.

London is an entire civilization of its own. Could I come live here for a year? How neat would that be?! Arrghhh guess what I've learned on this trip more than anything else is that I'm not ready to settle down in one place.

It feels like I've been travelling forever at this point. Walked into Contiki's basement with a sense of dread. What was I thinking?? Anywho got my room sorted out and headed directly to Buckingham Palace. Figured I should at least try to see some of the sights. Sure enough it rained on my way there.

It's 7.35pm now and my eyes are burning. I'm so tired. Been riding the tube all day. At this lil internet cafe close to Leichester Station right now, trying to get a hold of Sj. Will have to call him to see what he has planned for tonight.

I just want to go to bed.

And hell, tomorrow we're leaving at 6am.

People here talk funny. It's cool. And oh my goodness the diversity of people who live in this city, I swear is unparallel to anywhere else in the world. Is nobody from here, from here? I've stopped so many times to ask for directions and whatnot , every single time the accent is different.

London just blows my mind. People walk so fast, so well dressed, so...proper. I like it! I like it a lot, yeah.

Off into the madness it is for me. Gots a train to catch.

I heart London.





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The PalaceThe Palace
The Palace

So tis true what they say about London - it rains all the time. The place was awesome but man was it gloomy.
ContikiContiki
Contiki

6am Day 1 - And so begins a loooooooong series of early mornings. I am so not a morning person. Go away!
Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

A short evening didn't give me much time to do anything, really. So we'll have to be content with seeing the sights through the window of our bus enroute to Paris at this point. Just the feeling of being in the city was awesome. I love the hustle and bustle of city life. There were so many theatres to go to, people were rushing for cover from the rain...most people seem to end up in a swanky cafe or another. It was neat!
Bear @ BuckinghamBear @ Buckingham
Bear @ Buckingham

A month later I was STILL struggling with the different functions on my new camera.


30th May 2007

hey
you have never been to sweden, I can hear that. London's nothing compared to my precious sverige =D you on your way back home i take it. sounds like you have had an outstanding time in the middle east. Im so jelouse. anyway, talk to you later my friend. love johan
1st June 2007

you are crazy!!! crazy, crazy girl! Where off to next?? Take me with you!!! :)
10th June 2007

tsk tsk...one place is never better than the other :P I'll stick to my standard answer - they're just different. Would love to see Sweden someday, maybe I will...hmm...more inspiration for my next trip.
10th June 2007

I'm coming home in a few days! Absolutely stoked to see you guys but man...not doing something new everyday is gonna be so rough on my system. Will call you to bitch about not being on the road anymore, you'll understand :)
2nd July 2007

Ditto Johan's comment below. Sweden is pretty pretty pretty! Got to be my favorite place in Europe. But I heart London as well.
5th July 2007

Sheesh, you guys and Sweden. Now I feel compelled if only to see if you guys are right.

Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0904s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb