Merry Christmas to all


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 24th 2006
Published: December 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0



Well to all back there in Aus and where ever you may be reading this, merry Christmas. I have been wandering around London looking at all the Christmas lights. They sure do go a little crazy over here for Christmas and I have taken some video and photos to show you. All of these images come from Regent Street, Oxford Street and a few small side streets in the area. You can have the volume down because all you will here is my sniffling as it’s a little on the chilly side this night, and that was before the temperature really dropped! The quality isn’t the best for some strange reason but you get the picture. Most of the major little shopping strips have lots of little lights hanging off the light poles, mostly candy canes and so on. But I’m sure you get the picture. Hope you’re all well and have a good few days filled with good food, wine and company.

And I almost forgot, now I’m sure that you all out there would love to be here looking at all the things that are going on around the London area. We have ice skating rinks at the natural history museum and lots of markets all over the place for Christmas. Even a Christmas carnival with lots of rides and the like. But one of the videos you will see Piccadilly Circus Tube Station on a Saturday night. Now remember this is at 11-11:30pm. And it’s still two or three weeks till Christmas when I took this footage so you can imagine just what it’s been like over the past weeks. It’s jammed up pretty hard. All I could do was stand back and laugh (and take about a minute of footage). After taking this footage I walked up to Leicester Square Tube station and it was only slightly better. It only took me 10mins to get through the gates and on to a train. Even then you couldn’t move, and the people at Piccadilly Tube stop couldn’t get on as it was to full.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



24th December 2006

Enjoy the Xmas Cold
G'day Ian! No throwin shrimps on the barby over here my friend! This time last year I was lying on the beach in Sydney with a bottle of champagne, welcome to my cold world! Have a great xmas mate, glad to see you've got on the blog train! Take care, have a Bundy on me!

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb