One Week Down.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wimbledon
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Jello!
We have been doing so many activites since we arrived.
Yesterday we were knee deep in sequins, hot pants and feathers. The Notting Hill Carnival.
And.it.was.amazing! I loved it so much, so much colour, the weather was perfect, the atmosphere was electric and the costumes were incredible. There was a whole lot of booty shaking (not on my part) and some great dj's leading each float. Just another example of the many wonderful ways you can spend your time in a city like London.
The day before we went to Cambridge for some punting. Manya pun' followed our journey. Amazingly enough the English do not really appreciate the Australian humour but don't worry, we well entertained ourselves with our shenanigans on our hour long punt trip.
Punting consists of a long boat (which we found out you cannot flip, it's impossible, thank god- lake water is pretty putrid) a person standing on the back of the boat with a big long stick which they use as a rudder/motor to steer and drive the boat. Sam elected himself to be our captain, he managed to drive us in to as many walls, fellow punters, bridges and overhanging trees as possible. Hilarity ensued.
Before our epic punting experience we got caught in a lovely torrential downpour while wandering the streets of Cambridge... cobble stone streets, rain and hundreds-of-years-old-buildings...story book isn't it? No. Not really. Sam tried to sell me for an umbrella.
We had a traditional cream tea, after a full lunch, I'm surprised we didn't sink the boat with all the clotted cream we ate!
Anywho, we saw some amazing buildings, we wandered through some University grounds and gothic churches and I tell you what, if my uni looked like the one's over here, I'd definitely study harder. They were incredible. Immaculate grounds and so traditional.
In other news I went to the biggest Westfield in Europe yesterday, although, these days I'm a bit of a penny pincher so I admired all of the beautiful clothes from a distance, plus I had Sam with me and I didn't want him to break out in sweats from all of the fabric.
We also had our first English BBQ on Saturday night, much the same as an Australian BBQ actually..in fact, exactly the same. And it was absolutely delicious.
Today again was another poor attempt at going on the hop-on-hop-off tour, we woke up too late and took the bus up to Wimbledon instead, which was really great for a little spot of window shopping while Sam scoped out possible gyms. I finally got myself a sim card so that next time Sam loses me at the train station we'll be able to find each other. I think he tried to lose me on purpose though...hmm.
We have just started planning our very epic European adventure and so far our itinerary looks a little something like this: France, Germany (Oktoberfest), Prague, Budapest, Austria, Italy, Spain, Amsterdam and back to London. Sam's then heading to Turkey for a few days while I'll wish some more money into my wallet for some weekend trips Alissa and I will be taking over Christmas... it's all very exciting and we are so looking forward to heading to Edinburgh on Monday for 5 days with the parentals who are on their way here tomorrow. It's all happening!!
Alright well best be off, I have to do my sisterly duty and bake brownies for everyone, more to prove to my heckling siblings that I can actually cook something.
Cheerio from London Town.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb