4 days to go (written on Friday by Joe!)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Twickenham
August 8th 2009
Published: August 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, my boys list of things to do seems to get a little smaller and then increase with the things I’d forgotten to add to the list in the first place. It certainly feels like two steps forward and one back.

I’ve got loads to do to prepare the pickup for the outback and this morning, whilst working on the water tank installation couriers arrived with a fancy car battery made using the latest technology and with a fancy acronym (AGM); don’t know quite what it means but I’m sure I’m buying into the best technology which all men must understand can only be a good thing… also received a roof vent which was fitted in double quick time to the pickup canopy (to help keep temperatures down in the back of the pickup when in the outback) and a pair a walking sandals for Esther. How stereotypical of us that when travel goods are needed I buy gadgets and gizmos - all absolute essentials of course and the missus buys shoes… Personally I think we need each other to function. It’s a kind of symbiotic relationship.

Anyway, forgot to say that the off-road tyres arrived by courier today as well. Well-spent time on the internet paid off as I had a contact for a local garage that will fit tyres you supply yourself. Quite interesting to turn up in the middle of a residential street of semi-detached properties to find someone running the smallest commercial garage I’ve ever seen from their back garden. I backed down the side alley to the garage so that they could change the spare and rear tyres then had to drive out so that I could turn around and drive back in so they could change the fronts! Anyway, I left £50 lighter with a set of off-road MAN tyres fitted. They look the business whether they work or not.

The vehicle electrics are unlikely to be modified before we depart. We’ll just have to finish a few things in Perth. Also noticed that the shelf I’ve put in the pickup back bows excessively under load so I’ll be adding some reinforcement tomorrow.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.3s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb