Warm Welcome....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Trafalgar Square
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Back in London!



Well, I'm back in London and man, is it cold. I think it is below zero right now and I definitely do not have appropriate clothing. I may actually get hypothermia when I go to Montreal, but I'll deal with that when the time comes.

Anyway, not so happy to be back, within the first 30 minutes of arriving back in this lovely city a man and a woman got in a screaming match in the airport over nothing, someone cursed at me on the tube for having a large backpack and I was caught on CCTV approximately 449540945 times. It is strange to be so anonymous all of a sudden after spending the last 3 weeks with people constantly screaming "Mazunga, mazunga" at me as I walked down the street (loose translation - white girl, literally means something along the lines of white person who runs around). And it's cold. It is a clear blue sky for a change though which is quite lovely.

I have come to terms with the fact that I am slightly insane as I sat on the plane wishing I was going back to Congo instead of London. Dangerous - yes, more interesting - definitely, a little crazy - probably.

Either way I am off to Spain on Friday and it should be a bit warmer and less orderly which will be nice. In the mean time I need to go see some of the museums that I have missed thus far in London. The National Portrait Gallery is calling my name.

I leave you with a riddle that I heard at quiz night in Kigali last week:

What is the only U.S. state whose name does not include any of the letters in George W. Bush?

Advertisement



11th November 2008

Indiana!
11th November 2008

I can't keep up with you!
Indiana!
17th November 2008

And the answer is...
Indiana is correct!! Very impressive Mia, this is why we are traveling together!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb