It's raining, it's pouring


Advertisement
Burundi's flag
Africa » Burundi » West » Bujumbura
October 26th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Old Man is Snoring



Ahhh summer showers. Well more like rainy season showers but either way. Stuck in yet another city hiding under scant covering as the rain pours down for 10 minutes. We from Vancouver like to claim we know rain being as it rain all the time, but the rain here is different, when it rain, it really rains, if you dont get out quickly you are soked within minutes.

Apologies in advance for the many typos which are sure to follow, the keyboards here have most of the letters in differant places. You can change the settings on the computer to match our keyboards but then the keys you are hitting dont match the letters on the screen. And the spell check is in French which is not so helpful. I have discovered my touch typing is not what I thought it was as I find myself continually looking down at the keys only to see a "Q" in the place of an "A". Very confusing.

I went to the beach today, it was lovely. Moutains and water remain the ultimate combination. I met some crazy South Africans who are working with the African Union on the peacekeeping mission here. Not only did they pull a bag of wine out of their bag (along with some dried meat, five cups, and about 30 little sacs of vodka) but they proceeded to add their vodka to thier wine after they decided it was not strong enough. Did I mention it was noon? My kind of people! Just kidding. I got hit with a lovely episode of food poisoning a few days ago which is stopping me from eating or drinking very much more than a small meal a day. I think I'm going to start a new diet... Come to Africa, get food poisoning and you stop eating, presto! Pretty sure people would buy it.

That is all for now, I realized I forgot to mention the fact that at J's party last Saturday we bough a sheep, killed it and then roasted it on a spit fire. Will have to save that for next time, or perhaps just wait so we can tell the story around the thanksgiving table.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb