London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Tottenham
August 7th 2010
Published: August 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post


In London I didn’t do much, I mainly caught up on sleep, walked Oxford street and wandered around, did a little bit of people watching which has turned out to be a bit of a favourite. It’s funny the things you see when you just stop, sit and watch. The second day I was in London was Megan’s birthday so that night we headed out to Sheppard’s bush to a Thai restaurant called Jasmine Thai. Then on to the Walky as megan call’s it for a birthday drink. It wasn’t a late night as Megan had to go to work the next day and I also had to be back out at Gatwick airport to catch my flight to Split Croatia.
It felt like I hadn’t left the airport when I got back there in the morning. The was another delay in flights, which I wasn’t surprised at but it wasn’t that long thankfully. But the time gave me the chance to randomly meet another Aussie girl and then another two Aussies later on the flight. Which was really good cause they were all doing some sort of Croatia sail as well. Got to Split airport which is really really tiny by the way, caught the bus found the hostel where I was staying only to meet more Aussies in my room. We are everywhere and they are all from Perth. I have only met two Aussies from Brisbane so far on the trip. We all went out dinner that night together which was a lot of fun.
The next day I don’t’ know how but I managed to sleep in till 11 only to be woken by the guy making up beds for the new people checking in. Managed to drag myself out of bed and walked around the split city. It’s not very big well the main touristy bit isn’t big but its big enough and has a lot of little streets and thoroughfares winding through the main centre, easy to get lost if you don’t pay attention. So I walked around the old part of town and through the markets. It is all very very clean there, Nothing like Athens the ground is like this marble stone and if you take your shoes off and walk around on it, it feels like your walking on a kitchen floor. Which is pretty cool you’ll see a photo on facebook for sure. Right at the front of the main centre is the port and slowly during the day all the ships from the sailing tours started to rock up. Which was exciting to watch as the next day we would be setting sail. That night again we all went to black cat again, yes we went back to the same place but the food was so good, plus the one place you got traditional Croatian food you had to line up for hours to get a table and usually they ran out of food it was that popular, so we decided to give that place a miss. Was a pretty early night as I was up early the next day to skype and check out.
After a little bit of supermarket shopping the next day we all set out to get to our boats, everyone managed to find there boats pretty easy except me. The instructions that were given to us was…… Go to the port and look for a yellow shirt. Easy enough you would think, however not so. I can not explain how many boats there were and to get to some you had to climb on one and walk through to get to the boat next to it. Something I tried to find my boat cause I was getting desperate, also not easy when you have your big backpack on. However there was a little saving grace walking along the port I walked into one of guys Ben, that was on my last tour in the Greek islands. He was waiting to catch a ferry to one of the Islands. So he helped me try and find the boat, thinking to set of eyes are better than one, turns out both sets of eyes couldn’t locate the damn boat. So I rechecked the instructions in case I missed any, nope had them correct. Ben just happened to have met the tour leader in London one night out so he remember he had he’s phone number but he’s phone wasn’t charged, so off to an internet café to charge the phone, rang the number no answer. Was starting to think lucky I set out to find the boat early because I would be running out of time. Then I remember I could get the Fanatics number off the net found that and gave it a call, luckily this time the tour leader answered! Finally! Apparently the boat wasn’t at the port was at the little one in front of the main centre, wasn’t enough spaces at the port, oh fantastic. Anyway I grabbed my stuff and hopped to it and made it to the boat.

Then the sailing trip began.


Advertisement



11th August 2010

Yay! Thanks for updating so much! hehehe I've now managed to waste over an hour of work hehehee. I'm so happy you're having a good time. Miss your face! Love ya guts! xoxox

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb