Mad Hatter


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So the title of this blog is only a very small part of my experiences in London so far, but it's one that provided lots of laughter for myself and a park full of people. Most of my time in the UK has been catching up with friends and I've been loving it. When I was catching up with two beautiful friends I know from Perth, we were sitting in a crowded park in Soho (London's West End) when three gents in top hots looking like they were out of Alice and Wonderland came wandering through the park handing out flyers for a music event. One of them looked straight at me and with a mischevious grin said "oh, you look like fun". So Mark and Gordo couldn't let the opportunity pass and decided to get a photo of me with them. So here it is. There's more photo's of this day with Mark and Gordo on Mark's site http://www.flickr.com/photos/misterrad.

My camera died on the first day of sight seeing in London, so I don't have photos of all the usual Big Ben, Westminster Abbey etc. After India, England is so terribly organised! I love the contrast of going from one to the other with everything signed just in case you didn't know what to do such as "please stand on the right" and "keep left" and of course "mind the gap".

It's been lots of fun here. There's been lots of random experiences like the one above. I feel like I've done very little sight seeing and just enjoyed people's company. I love my friends here and it's been awesome to catch up with them all. I took a trip up to Edinburgh and spent most of the time in the flat with Pam. I've been fighting off something and eating very little so the time out was really good for me. I think I did a total of 4 hours sight seeing in Edinburgh but it was a strange city that seemed to magically suck any colour from anything. I don't think I could have spent too much time there for that reason. Everything was terribly grey.

On a personal note, I've also put myself into a situation where I've made myself feel so terribly foolish and naive - but that's not necessarily a bad thing. It's simply a situation where I was hoping for a bit of "happy ever after" scenario. I guess more than anything, I'm amazed at my own ability to fall into the same trap I've created for myself time and time again - regardless of where I am in the world. Perhaps one day I'll figure it all out.

So this is my last day of London before I head to Barcelona. Most of my friends are at Live Earth today (a music festival to raise funds and awareness about climate change - I'm SOOOOOOOOO jealous) so I'll probably just wander. Unfortunately none of my friends thought it was a valid argument that I was the environmental scientist, so by rights they should have donated their ticket to me. I might check out Tour de France though.

PS. Feel free to email me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



7th July 2007

Thankyou
Thanks for the photo of Adam sweetie! It's reallly good to see that he hasn't changed at all and that he looks pretty happy. Bugger about the camera dying, but knowing you, you won't forget any of it anyway. Take care!
8th July 2007

Mooshy mooshy
Heya chickadee - wish I could have hung out with you and Pam, that girl fills my soul with smiles :) Live the dream! Cath
9th July 2007

Me Too
Why oh why am I not a travelling too! Glad you re having a good time - I'm so jealous!
9th July 2007

hi girl
hey sweetie, looks like you landed well on your feet, that is so fantastic! cant take you anywhere, 3 guys wow! all the best, Mish and Ricoxxxx
11th July 2007

Vacation
Can't wait till youre in a London a little closer to me!!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb