Alright Governor


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Surrey Quays
November 30th 2006
Published: January 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Thursday I decided to have a walk around my local area, Surrey Quays. I found out that the Greenland dock near my flat is called so because it was used by the whaling ships which operated principally in the North Atlantic around Greenland. It was used to refit whaling ships and as a location for the boiling of blubber to produce oil. A few of the pubs in the area are named after this fact too, such as the Moby Dick and the Ship and Whale. I actually found quite a few pubs in the area, that’s one thing in England you can’t go 100 metres without finding.
I also found out that the Greenland Dock was used for the timber trade during the 19th century and suffered greatly during World War II, when many of the warehouses were razed by German bombing and the great lock was rendered unusable due to bomb damage. To have a look around the docks you can click on this link:

Greenland Docks


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



8th January 2007

That "Fitchetts" pub sounds pretty damn sexy even if I do say so myself.

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb