Number 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
January 19th 2009
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it begins...

I finished my last job yesterday and am now officially unemployed, my Gap Year travels have begun. Scary? Yes. Exciting? Yes. Weeeird? Yes!

This is the best way I can think of of keeping everyone updated with my travels and keeping in contact so that when you get that phone call from me.. 'im lost in a forest in cambodia.. come and get me!' you'll remember who i am :D

So, the grand plan..

Tomorrow we leave for Newcastle, Edinburgh and Dublin, back next Thursday.

Saturday 31st I'm off to Madagascar to save the lemurs, in fact I will tell you the blurb from my 'field brief'. 'The new project location is the dry deciduous forest of Tsarakibany, just south of Diego Suarez. This region is the transition zone between two climatic and geographically divided areas, the two national parks of Montagne d'Ambre to the North, whish is semi-evergreen montane rainforest, and Ankarana to the South, a dry deciduous limestone karst region. The forest fragments where the project is based connect the two larger protected areas, which provides a fascinating location to investigate the role of such fragments as wildlife corridors or refugess for forest fauna....' So I am living under a tree with only a mosquito net for protection. Bring it on. Back on the 17th March, if I'm still alive.

End of March ish around the 25th (good planning) Jay and I head for Australia!!! Travel mainly around the South East coast (of course) with perhaps a trek out to Adelaide and hopefully up to Ayres Rock if I can convince Jay that it is so much more than 'just a rock'...

Some time in June.. heading up for South East Asia, route as of yet undecided and realistically won't be decided till we arrive. Izzy is coming to meet us and whoever else is around. Katie will be there for a while.. and many others have said they 'may come' but who knows.. At some point or other someone has pointed out one of the four (Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos) as the 'best one' so I guess we'll have a good one wherever we go!

So that's the plan. Back in August. See you then :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0294s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb