Australia v Brazil


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Richmond
June 18th 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Although I think I’m a pretty sports savvy kinda girl, since living in London I have learned two key sporting facts:

1. It is my patriotic duty as an Australian to love the Wallabies (even if I have never watched more than about four matches of rugby in my life living in Victoria).

2. The mechanics of the offside rule.

Armed with a ever growing understanding of football (soccer to those at home), I have been caught up in the frenzy of the World Cup that has taken over this country as it has much of the world.

It’s a bit of a novelty for me to have a national team to get behind. In Melbourne life is Aussie Rules and there is never a chance for a national team to be supported (in a genuine, internationally recognised sport). Rugby and league are shown but international games of these sports are hardly the sporting fiesta to rival the AFL Grand Final. For the first time in 32 years, Australia has qualified for the World Cup Final, conveniently when I am living in a user friendly time zone.

Last Sunday I met up with Aussie mates to watch the doomed Socceroos take on the reigning champs Brazil. With Shane, Alice and Craig I caught a ferry down the Thames from Westminster to Richmond where we met up with Karlie, Robbo and some of Shane’s mates to watch the match on a big screen in a pub beside the river.

It was never going to be a victorious day for the Aussies although a draw probably would have been as good as a win for us in the scheme of things. We played valiantly and the 0-2 scoreline didn’t reflect the skill with which the guys played.

Next match is against Croatia on Thursday. Fingers crossed that we get a win and make it through to the next round!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb