Return to England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Regent's Park
December 21st 2013
Published: February 8th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Big BenBig BenBig Ben

Oh look my new hat is awesome
I began my trip in a little airport in Treviso, Italy and I mean small this place was like a crop dusting sized airport. But I made it through security and customs fine and that’s just dandy. Now this being my first flight with Ryan air I didn't know what to expect as I boarded the plane. I noticed there was no seat number on my ticket. It's a free for all sit where you please, it was pretty cool. Upon arrival in England I went to customs border people and these people asked me everything from how much money I have on me and available to me, to wanting to see my return trip and hostel reservation on my emails. Freaking insane it was very odd as every other time I've gone through customs it's a quick process with a help and a stamp. Finally through that I made my way to the rail and got to the tube and finally to the hostel in Swiss cottage. It’s a nice looking hostel kind of rustic looking brick building wood floors, I like it. After I got settled I headed out to get my hat from Lock and Co. but along
EyeEyeEye

Seriously this thing is really massive
the way I smelled some awesome food and grabbed some fresh stir-fry and since I didn't want to eat on the tube I just walked to the next station and ate along the way. I got to Lock and Co. and got my hat that I had wanted for over a year now and it sure looks awesome on me. Then I walked down to Big Ben and the Eye of London just for a stroll, got hungry and decided food was more important than a pint and walked to Soho to the breakfast club and got myself a nice breakfast burrito. I then just wandered around Soho for a while and finally made my way back to the hostel. They have a pub downstairs so I was finally having that pint I'd been looking for. met some cool folks from Brazil (and really hot too) we all talked for a while then went out for a stroll to go see big Ben because the girls hadn't seen it yet and I hadn't seen it at night. Naturally it was sprinkling rain but it was not bad. We took the tube to big Ben got in a good few pictures and proceeded to Buckingham palace for some more pictures. After we walked up to Soho but they were getting pretty cold and tired so we headed back home to the hostel after. Not bad for a day’s travels.
Today I eventually got out of bed at 9, I know but don't worry I woke up at 0730 and just laid there for a while. Had an Italian style breakfast (cappuccino and toast) as this is not breakfast I wandered all the way down to Clapham Common to a little place called breads etcetera. Its community tables and good food really cool place off the main area of London. Kinda wandered for a bit and somehow found myself at the hostel again, but I noticed they have a photo scavenger hunt so I decided to do that, do it and get a dinner, sounds good to me. Headed off to Buckingham palace again, and then off to Trafalgar square, onward to St. Paul's cathedral. By this time it was getting close to the start of a pub tour so I headed to the meeting place for that. The east end of London is a badass borough there is so much history and culture there it's strange I hadn't been here before. But anywho we saw a ton of cool street art and learned a bit about the pubs and history of the east end. Like the Olympics when they came through removed a bunch of cobblestone roads from brick road and paved it. That was historic brick ya bastards! But it looked better for the people to have paved roads. But one area still has the original cobblestones only because the building owner also owned a portion of the road and said you guys ain't taking Shit off of my street! And the locals loved them for it. Lots of cool street art again these people are illegally painting walls with a message because it needs to be said, and many times they get permission from the building owner to paint because they too believe it is the right thing, very cool stuff over there. After the tour I walked to a curry restaurant and asked the waiter for something spicy and good. Wow I got spicy it made my eyes water it was sooo good the guy asked if it was too spicy and I was like no such thing this is great, really good food there. Wandered back to the hostel to the bar but everyone was more interested in their phones and such to talk. Really people let’s put the electronics down for a bit and talk to your fellow traveler. But no, so I had my pint of Guinness and went to bed.
Today started well had breakfast at the hostel with some badass Ozzies, (as always smoking hot) who told me is was Australia day and that was worth celebrating. And as I wondered around town through the day I say a bunch of people with Australian flags having a good ol time. Ya know I don't remember too much about what I did that day I was out wandering and found a five guys burger place and thought that was odd not bad, not as good as it's made in the states but a good solid try. I had dinner at a Mexican place in Greenwich and when I was leaving there was another Ozzie waving the flag around mostly drunk so I shouted across the street to him "Happy stralia day!!” He replied in kind and a few other folks nearby also replied in kind, good times. Got back to the hostel and had a few pints and went to bed at like 2300.
Today I woke up and saw the sun, so I knew I had to go on the eye of London. After a quick bite of grub at the hostel I headed out expecting massive queues because it was sunny finally. Got there and there was like maybe 50 people in the whole area. So that was cool, paid my 20 quid for a ticket and got on. This thing is Awesome! It took me a minute to figure out how the capsule doesn't flip over while spinning in a giant circle. But each one moves independently and rotated itself to maintain levelness. The view was super cool could see for miles in all directions and it was really a sight to behold. And the whole eye thing is really a marvel of engineering just because of how complex and massive it is, seriously it is huge. After that was done I wandered about and it was getting noon'ish so I figured I'd get some breakfast at breads exc but they are closed Mondays so I decided to
ArtArtArt

How cool is this painting
go to the Breakfast club but the queues are sometimes long at the original one in Soho. Naturally I decide to go exploring for the one in the east end. Haha that was pretty funny, I don't get lost I explore. So after walking around the east end literally going down every street bit the one I wanted I finally found it and there was only 5 people in front of me so it was a short wait. As always they didn't disappoint the breakfast was great. Did some more wandering had a few pints at random pubs made my way to Camden market and strolled about for a while, bought a hat still haven't decided if it looks good on me but it was only 5 quid so either way no big. Oh oh I almost forgot in my wandering earlier I found some policemenofficers for the photo scavenger hunt and took a photo with one of them so that was cool finally got all those boxes checked off free food here I come. Wandered back to the hostel that evening and got my free meal, and free or not it was super good. Some chicken with ham and mozzarella and awesome sauce with chips on the side. Now I don't know exactly how many pints I had at the pub that night but when they closed there was a huge chunk of open space where the Guinness was and I didn't see may get ordered. But it was cool I met some Canadians, ozzies, and Brazilians. Everyone had a cool story to tell and it was good times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb