London calling!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Putney
September 14th 2006
Published: September 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I know, I know...it's been nearly three weeks since I arrived in London and I have yet to write a word about it. Same deal with my journal - it's all gone out the window! Oh well - here's a quick little update for anyone still interested.

We arrived early one late August morning and made our way to Putney, the location of our 'flat!' It is such a cute little place - we've settled in quite nicely there. We spent the first weekend settling in and catching up with friends. Then after the long weekend, we set about finding work! This is probably the most expensive city to live in, so the stress levels were getting fairly high fairly quickly! I was registering with teaching agencies, temp agencies, and even handing my cv in to pubs and restaurants in my neighborhood. Finally, I got a call last week from one of the pubs I almost didn't go into...The Coat and Badge. I had chatted with the manager briefly and he asked me to come in for a 'chat.' Our 10 minute chat turned into me working almost 50 hours a week! Haha. It's a cool little pub - one I'd definitely want to hang out in if I didn't work there! It's always busy, and full of other travellers living here. Tons of Aussies, Kiwis, and South Africans. Fun times - but hard work for such little pay! This whole no tipping custom over here SUCKS. Oh well - at least it's work. I've also been temping at a designer furniture company that specializes in patio furniture for yachts...sorting fabrics and what not. This particular office has sold to such celebs as George Michael, Jamiriquai (sp?), and even Robbie Williams. Sadly, none of them have come in since I've been working! Still waiting on the teaching front - my references are still coming in so that could take a bit of time to sort out (thank you, references!). In the meantime, I may have an interesting opportunity with a charity organization here in Putney, through another temp agency. I would LOVE to get some experience in the not-for-profit sector, so it could be good!?

Anyhow, the best way to keep in touch with me is via email - as my pay-as-you-go phone plan sucks back the pounds! Luckily my friend Toby has free calls to Canada and has kindly invited us to use it anytime! So more phone calls to the family are coming! Miss and love you all.

LD 😊

Advertisement



14th September 2006

work
you will get conections for work by working in the pub.what is the most popular draught and how much a pint is it there?have fun and love the fish and chips with malt vineger. love dad xo.
22nd October 2006

lonely blog
Hi Laur I figured since your blog is so lonely I better say HI!!! Hope you had a good Sat. night at the pub...lots of love, SD

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb