Seeeya London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Piccadilly
July 5th 2011
Published: July 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My last day in London. I have to thank my wonderful running shoes for taking me on a glorious jog along the Thames River.
I have included some pictures of my glorious Hostel. Super Fancy.

I wondered through Borough Market. I have to say the highlight was the CHEESE STORE. Wheels of cheese were stacked to the ceiling, it was AMAZING, and the smell was…well you could tell it was a cheese market.

I went to the Tate Modern Museum to check out some different artwork. I didn’t know I would find works by Monet, Dali, and Picasso. One of the most interesting pieces was a pile of sunflower husks. It was done by Ai Weiwei….it turns out every single husk is actually handmade out of porcelain. The artist was arrested in China for his liberal art ideas, and is still being held today. Just a fun fact for you at home.

The afternoon came fast; Miles and I had reservations at Bucca Di Lupo. After a slight communication error, we made it a little late to the tiny Italian restaurant nestled near busy Piccadilly Circus. We started off with wonderful cocktails, Milo ordered a standard Gin and Tonic. I decided to step out of the box and ordered a fresh Blood Orange concoction.

Follow by delicious croustinis-Broad Bean & Basil bruschette with Pecorino and a standard tomato and Basil
We followed with 2 smaller pasta dishes, Linguine with spider crab, tomato & basil and Orecchiette with 'nduja (extremely spicy home-made salame), red onion & fresh tomato

Our main course was the roasted Lamb Rump with Rocket Salad.

We had to finish with 2 cappuccinos a slice of Torta Caprese 'bilivello' - layered chocolate & limoncello almond cake, but our favorite was the Gelato cup bonet - amaretti soaked in rum, bonet gelato, salted caramel gelato & espresso syrup.

And after that we were all kinds of chocolate wasted.

Getting back to my hostel was kind of a disappointment, everyone was asleep in the room and it was a good 90 degrees in the room. I was sticky, hot, full, and did NOT want to be on the top bunk. I think I slept for a total of 2 hours last night, but I guess I will just sleep on the plane over to Italy. I’m sure it will be cooler over there….ahhh
I thought it was rad. By Cy TwomblyI thought it was rad. By Cy TwomblyI thought it was rad. By Cy Twombly

It was said to display pure Passion mixed with Anger and Ecstasy.
not.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Caught by the Po PoCaught by the Po Po
Caught by the Po Po

They were playing beautiful Music, was a shame they had to stop
P1000176P1000176
P1000176

Yes that is an intersection. Yes there are pubs around. Yes it is loud at night. Location?


Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb