Packed and ready to go!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Notting Hill
January 20th 2010
Published: January 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My backpack weighs 18kg, and I'm seriously wondering whether I could fit a little more in (without breaking my back). Ben the physio told me that my ankle will swell up again if I carry anything too heavy for too long, which could be quite exciting. I have got the same range of painkillers that you might find in an extremely well-stocked Boots though, just to be on the safe side.
I had a lovely night last night, a few special people going down the pub. People keep on asking me if I'm excited, or if I'm nervous to be going on holiday alone for 3 months. To be honest, it still hasn't settled in. I'll probably only realise what's happening about 2 weeks before the end!! The past week has been quite hectic in terms of saying goodbye to people, and last minute preparations (I'm hoping that a delivery of flip flops will arrive before 11 which is when I have to leave). All that remains now is to photocopy the passport and fill out a lovely Congestion Charge form (this is unrelated to the Australia trip).
My flight basically takes two days, that's an awful lot of movies!!! I have already checked the website to see which ones are playing, I think I'll start off watching "My Sister's Keeper". That one's supposed to be quite sad though, it's always awkward when you start crying in the middle of the flight.
There's a whole sense of decorum when it comes to how you treat the person(s) sitting next to you. When you get on the plane, should you introduce yourself straight away? You'll be spending a LOT of time together. And if you do introduce yourself, how can you put in your iPod without being rude, when you're bored of them? You end up having those awkward little comments/moments while trying to get in and out of the seats, or when you are both awake. It's arguably even more awkward if you sit together in silence for 24 hours. Or if you introduce yourself while the plane is landing, it begs the question "Why have you waited 24 hours to talk?".
I have to go and photocopy things now. This is also a tester entry to check that everyone can read it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb