I Just Saw President Obama and the First Lady!!! (and got interviewed and my picture taken by every major newspaper in the UK and the Associated Press!)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
March 31st 2009
Published: April 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post



The title of this entry is absolutely correct!!! What a story to tell, I am still on a natural high.

I don't want to miss out on telling you about the 155th Oxford-Cambridge Boat Race though. So let me knock that one off quick.

The Oxford-Cambridge Boat Race is a huge event every year that is watched by 7 million people on TV. The two universities each have an 8 person boat, and they race down the Thames River for a course that takes about 20 minutes to complete. A bunch of my flatmates, my friend Christian, and Joe's friend who lives in Scotland named Adam, all headed to the race for a day of fun. Myself, Christian, Adam and Kait all rooted for Oxford, while Joe, Tara and Deborah rooted for Cambridge. Surprisingly, there were a decent amount of Americans in participating in the race. Two of the men on the reserve teams hailed from Syracuse University (they would be on the reserve team). Well we positioned ourselves at the finish lane, and when the boats paddled in towards us, the winner was a clear one and officially declared. It was......OXFORD!!!! We had won!!!!! (Of course).

Ok, enough of that. Now for the juicy stuff!

So we (myself, Christian, my other friends Alex, and Alicia, and Christian's roommate Jenna) found out that Barack officially arrived tonight at about 7:45pm our time. He landed at Stansted Airport (for which had to be completely shut down). He was bringing 500 people with him, 200 of them secret service. After learning about him staying at the US Ambassador's house in Regent's Park (was just there, remember?) we headed over around 6:30 and planted our camp. While waiting there, the Associate Press, and the major UK newspaper reporters approached us and started asking us questions. It was mostly because we were American and witnessing Barack's first trip to a European country as President.

Time quickly goes by, and the police presence was unbelievable. We were about 1/2 mile from the residence. They had security and barricades completely around the Ambassador's house from about that distance all the way around. At one point on our walk, Christian took a picture and a police officer said "According to Terrorism Law 44, I am allowed to search your camera, please let me see the pictures." I thought it was awesome.

At approximately 8:15ish (very rough estimate) a row of helicopters flew over our head. A reporter who studied what they looked like, pointed our exactly which one was secret service, which one was British military, and which one was Marine One, Barack's Helicopter. Knowing that there were about 6 photographers next to us, as everyone started to take pictures, I pointed up to the sky and smiled big, hoping to give them a good enough shot to publish it!!! The AP was there, so check your papers for me tomorrow!!!!!

After the helicopter landed, we found out that the Motorcade would be leaving from the other side of the house. We walked along the security barricades and found a group of people who were waiting to do the same. We made it in right as the police had stopped people from moving in. I got right to the corner of the sidewalk and waited. About 10 minutes later the motorcycles starting coming and we knew it was time. Everyone started to scream and go crazy. There were two limos with the US and UK flag on them, and as the first one passed, I saw in clear view, the First Lady of the United States of America Michelle Obama smiling and waving at the crowd that had gathered. Past her, I was able to make out another figure that I thought was Barack but was not 100% sure. When the second limo passed and I was clearly able to see no Barack, I knew that it had to be him, the President of the United States of America, next to Michelle. Everyone was screaming and waving and the energy was so high. After they left, one of the policemen turned to another and said, "I can't believe I just saw them, that was awesome." I smiled at them both, and then left for my journey home.

It was such an exciting evening!!!!!!!


Trivia Answer: OXFORD!!!!
Trivia Question: Which countries participate in the G20?

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



1st April 2009

Notice the plates?
King Marshall Goldberg :)

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb