Barack O-London (a view from across the pond)...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post



I'm proud to be an American, where at least I know I'm free....(lines from my favorite Patriot song, a perfect fit for the day)

Hallo America (and other countries),

What a day huh? Possibly the most important day of the year (excluding my birthday that is). It all started off with a trip to Madame Tussauds. The rumor was true!!! (not the one about Syracuse buying us all a round at the pub...still working on that). We arrived at 9:20am, ten minutes before opening. After showing valid identification that we were American....bing bang boom (do people still use that?) it was official, we were let in for free (see the attached picture of what the register read). The museum was cool, very similar to the one in NY, and totally not worth the 25 pounds it should have cost us (That's about 38 whole dollars). The Barack statue was awesome! There was so much media attention around it...and some how we did not get interviewed for the news...(I know, I'm socked too). Oh well...maybe I will in 4 years? Here's to hoping.

So after that I went to class.....(end of paragraph)

My professor let us all out to go watch the Inaugural Ceremony, which occurred at 5:00pm local time. The student lounge was PACKED! The whole program was there (I think, I didn't actually count.) I practically clapped my hands off when Joseph R. Biden Jr was sworn in. I wanted to vote for him for President, but unfortunately he dropped out before I had the chance. At the time, my brother made fun of me because he was rooting for Richardson to win, and Richardson had done better than Biden in the Iowa Caucus (woops...good choice Brandon). It was exciting to experience history that is so close to our lives and so important to us, from a foreign country (and one that doesn't hate us THAT much)

Also, way to mess up Barack.....it's not like you are being sworn in as President or anything. Oh, and I was hoping that they were going to lift Cheney up in the wheelchair and carry him down the stairs (wrong again).

As I am typing this, I am IMing my flatmate Deborah (who is, yes, in the bedroom next to me) and I had to stop typing because I am laughing so hard. Many of you might not get the joke...but it's so worth adding. She was joking that she needs my assistance and I said I'd put her through "Darren Boot Camp" (not the same as Darren's Dance Grooves) Her response was:

(8:15:02 PM): darren boot camp sounds like pam shopping for earrings
(8:15:06 PM): dangerous and expensive

Pammy is another one of our flatmates who after telling us all (well mostly me) to stop her from buying more earings, walked into the next store and bought, lets say, a very nice pair. They are both so funny!

Tomorrow I have....NO CLASSES!!!!! I have to be at the school around noon to sign up for some trips, but that's not too bad, I still get to sleep in (which I will need after we go out tonight)

As for the trivia question from yesterday, for all of you who answered "Blue" because of the picture I posted, you are...WRONG! Maida Vale is on the Brown line, also known as Bakerloo. (good job, you are 0-1)

Daily Question: What West End musical is Mr. Bean currently starring in? (I am hoping to increase your London culture through these)

Ok, time to get ready to go out, but first...BONUS STORY!

Bonus Story: So we are walking by the wax statue of the Queen. She is standing on a platform, with a camerawomen taking pictures of you with her to buy from the museum. So clearly this is a popular and important figure. She has her crown on, and has guards on either side, and is in the royal family section of the museum. A dumb American student walks up to the photographer and goes "So.......is that one like famous or something?" I almost throw up right there.

Until Latter Evenings,

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale





Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



20th January 2009

Mr. Bean
I think he is in the show Oliver. Am I right???

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb