No Way You Knew This! (or did you...) [plus great West End deals]


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
January 19th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hallo World (AMAZING DAY TODAY!),

So, as I was in the Tubular (also known more commonly as "The Tube") I was reading an interesting advertisement that caught my attention (and kept it surprisingly longer than the average 4 seconds). 1/4 of London Heathrow's Saturday Passengers Fly Before 7:00am (I know! sleep is definitely not over-rated)

My flatmate Kait might be upset I was reading something while on the tube, because it was taking away from my experience of riding something so similar to a Disney Ride. (I knew her and I would get along great) Public transportation equivalent to a Disney ride?...who else would think of that??? (ok, I can also think of a few more...but bare with me)

Quick update about how perfect our flat is (sorry for keep bragging....you all know I can't help it...ok stop rolling your eyes) Some other students today were complaining about having mice and no internet (OUCH!)

Ok, onto much better things. Tara and I experienced our first WEST END SHOW.....Chicago! It was soooooo good. Definitely Broadway quality. I was hoping that they would have accents (although looking back, Chicagogians wouldn't have British accents) Oh well, I would have probably
Our StationOur StationOur Station

Maida Vale Tube Station
laughed throughout the entire thing. AHHHHH i totally forgot....we sat in the ....get ready....SECOND ROW...for how much.....get ready ONLY 20 POUNDS! (the jew strikes again)

So classes were very interesting today...and although I don't have one until 12:20 tomorrow, I am walking up at 8:00 (don't call me crazy yet). Why am I doing that you ask? (if you didn't ask it....do so now so my next sentence makes sense.......) As previously stated....Madame Tussauds is giving free admissions to everyone to can prove they are an American Citizen (does singing the National Anthem count as proof?)

Oh...and update on my accent. In the elevator at the Covent Garden Tube Station (not that you probably know what in the world that means...or where it is... I do because I'm a local now...cough), it got crowded and Tara and I became separated. The elevators are pretty large and I raised my voice to check on my girl, and I said "Tara" in my best accent (short and sweet...like someone you all know....again, stop eye rolling). No one in the elevator turned to look at me! It must have been dead on (or they were all rolling their eyes at me). I was so proud.

Today was a great day...and Madame better not let me down (or this will be one upset foreigner).

Also on a great note, (in addition to all the others) one of my professors lives around the corner from us, and is e-mailing me a list of all the great places to eat and shop around here!!!

It's time....

BONUS STORY! So I decided to put on slacks to go to Chicago, and Tara was wearing jeans. We both saw each other, and acknowledged the difference. Without discussing it further, we parted ways and then re-emerged....with Tara wearing nice pants and me wearing jeans. Being the gentleman I am (ok, seriously, no more eye rolls) I put back on my slacks and we left cracking up.

Question of the day (answer for follow next blog): What Tube Line Color is Maida Vale On?

Until Latter Days.

Londoner,
Sir Darren Nigel Goldberg III of Maida Vale


Advertisement



20th January 2009

Just remember
In the English tradition, the second son gets nothing. :) So, how is that accent coming? Good enough to fool some of my lawyers?
20th January 2009

You're Ridic
yes Darren, I rolled my eyes about... 15 times during this post. btw...Tubular?!?! lol
20th January 2009

Tube color - Blue!
I guess Maida Vale Tube is Blue!
20th January 2009

haha i like how yesterday i told you i rolled my eyes at you when i read this and non the less you put (no eye rolling!) but no worries i still do roll my eyes at you!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb