Now we're talking!


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Cocktail by the Jug!Cocktail by the Jug!Cocktail by the Jug!

Woohoo!! This is how it's done.. no class really!??
Finally I feel like i'm in London! On wednesday the rain came down, the umbrella's went up and I was in my element wandering down New Bond & Oxford Streeets.

I'm starting to gage my sence of direction which is fabulous!! I think I have covered most of the ground in Central London (it feels like i've walked the whole of England though!) - so now I have a visual for it all - all I have to do now is master the tube and I'll be a pro!

Finally i plucked the courage last night to cross the road and venture into the Pub as a party of one!! I refused to let my first friday night be a lonley one infront of UK Big Brother (and it's bad tv!!) so I went to the youngest people I could find and bought them a round of drinks to introduce myself - making me instantly popular! They were from Cambridge and staying in the same building as me while they do their Summer internships. We headed into Leister Square (I think!!??) and made a night of it!! You could buy coktails by the jug which impressed me, and the
FriendsFriendsFriends

Frankie, Kylie and Adam (I think that's right!!) from Cambridge..
very best thing was that by the time we were winding up, it was light again outside with the long days, so at 4am it was quite safe to walk home and save on a cab fare!

Meanwhile, my poor feet!! I've tried to be sensible in my choice of footwear by rotating shoes each day to avoid blisters.. instead I have a blister in every spot! haha.. I was trying to be responsible, but now I just look silly don't I!!

My UK sim card is now up and running too!! Woohoo!!I was feeling a little tender with a silent phone, but it's back and ringing which is an awesome feeling! I recieved a few drunk messages and phone calls last night, which was great because they reached me early afternoon, pumping me up for my weekend! It was flattering to know that I was already so missed!

And the shoebox has been upgraded, as Chris puts it, it's now a walk in robe.. I had to trade in my view, but it's now 3 times the size and has plenty of room for cartwheels and the like!! haha..

I'm also still meat free.. and I finally have the groceries down pat, managing to eat on about £5 per day which is just awesome.. Great news is that Curly Wurly chocolate bars are still big over here which is magic, and I can get 10 for £1.50 at this little store I found, so we know what i've been eating!! D.coke also comes in 3L bottle!! Amazing!!

And while trying to be so healthy, i'm still on the search for a good gym, but they're all sooooooo tiny! Tristan probably owns more equiptment than they do, but I will continue..

News from home this week is that my friend Cat has got the OK to travel after a nasty blood clot, and she's hoping to be over here as soon as October which is sooooooo exciting! Jazz is only 3 weeks away, then there is Joe in November and M&D in December.. So Charlie the pressure is on mate! I have a lovely sweedish girl here who is happy to lend her couch 😉 so get on that plane!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Shopping on New Bond StreetShopping on New Bond Street
Shopping on New Bond Street

Nice.. Very very nice :)
Look who i found!!Look who i found!!
Look who i found!!

Just a little something for you Dad!


9th July 2006

Your really there!!
didn't take long to find the fun...awesome stuff megs! that jug is fantastic, not to mention that fantastic necklace :o)
11th July 2006

So close now! I can feel it.
I put in my online visa application on sat night... and should be sending off the rest of the documentation today... very exciting... October 4 i plan to book my flight. so exciting.. on to you.. i'm so proud of you for making some great friends and i especially like your way of getting them... hopefully theyreturned the favour to you.. I most definately would fancy a lil louis... did you take that pic from inside a cab cause it looks like your moving. OMG i want that jug... i was getting worried that all i would be drinking over seas is beer.. cause i wouldn't be able to afford enough wine to get my drunk.. but i'm now feeling a lil better about it knowing the offer me girly drinks in JUGS! love you love you love you... cant wait for the next installment cat xoox

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb