Pack Your Bags and Leave (ing-Do)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 9th 2009
Published: February 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So it's February and we leave THIS MONTH! In-fact, it's in a week. EEK!!! It has rolled around so fast I cannot believe this is happening. We are both meeting with people to have drinks (primarily Jit) and meals (civilised me!) before we go, but the whole thing remains to be very surreal. The funniest thing is that both of our parents (especially the mothers) have gone into overdrive with the mothering. “Do you want to take bandages?” “How about some food?” aaaarrrrgggghhhh!!!

People usually ask us what are you taking with you? A suitcase, a backpack, and how many clothes and bits and bobs etc etc! Well instead of writing a list we thought we just take a few snaps. A his and hers guide to backpacking (Flashpacking!). Please note for those of you who have mentioned bog roll to us, the pictures do not show any but please be reassured we are taking some! Also it looks like my bag has a lot more items in it, well technically it does but that is because I am carrying 2 out of the 3 bags of toiletries and the medicine…so looks can be deceiving! Personally I know we have over packed, but I think this is just for the fact that this is our first World Tour and it's kind of scary knowing that you have to live out of these bags for 8 months. So to over compensate, we have tried to think of every eventuality and cater for it, I take you back to toilet seat covers, universal sink plug and waterproof playing cards. No doubt that most of it will end up in the arms of some little Thai or Cambodian kid who will eternally be grateful to our generosity!

I've started losing sleep, having very weird dreams and finding myself waking up in the middle of the night thinking shit (he did not mean to swear!), I have forgotten some random bit of kit that I will never use. Anxiety is what they call it I guess, but I think that’s normal (I hope it is anyway), and I'm sure once I'm actually at the airport and checked in, everything will settle down. Either that or I will be a nervous wreck necking back whiskies until I'm absolutely ruined and they stop me from getting on the plane. Lets hope it's the former rather than the latter. I plan to have a few whiskies to knock me out for the mammoth plane journey ahead, and for a select few…no I wont be drinking wine because we all know what happens when Kay drinks wine!!!

Also a big THANK YOU (Thank you!) to all of you that made it to our leaving do it was a fantastic turnout. All I can say is what a fantastic night. I mean WOW! I cannot tell you how much it meant to us to have you all there. It was probably one of the best nights in a long long time. I achieved the great achievement of actually remembering the night fully, and it not being a complete blur as most of our nights are, and i had quite a few shots but my feet did not hurt and i was still standing...woo hoo!!! It was a great send off and we will miss you guys loads!

Anyway folks, I'm sure our next post will either be from Heathrow airport as we try and kill some time, or from sunny Singapore. One week to go….ARRRR!!

Until then…Love you all and we will miss you loads!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 53, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



18th February 2009

have a great time we miss u but one day nearer to u coming home love u lots

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.11s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb