Cheers love.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
September 24th 2008
Published: September 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ello! I am having a great time in good old London; I know this semester is going to fly by way too fast.

I don't have much time to write, so I'll just recap a few things.

Not only is the British accent awesome, but I love the things they say! Pretty much everyone calls me love. "You're welcome, love", "No, love", "yes, love", "you're going the wrong way, love", "would you like a newspaper, love", "not a problem, love". They add it to the end of like every sentence, it's awesome!

The past few days I have basically been organizing my room and buying things I need for the semester that I didn't want to drag on the tour. I FINALLY found hangers yesterday (I can't believe how hard they are to find) and I also bought some organizational type things for my desk, since I'm practically OCD when it comes to organizing things, especially my desk. As soon as Kara gets back from her first day of work, we're going to Primark (the cheap, Kohls-like store for some clothes) so that I can buy a few things for work. I had my internship meeting yesterday, and I found out that my boss, the MP Yvette Cooper, is actually a Minister, which means she is very important. I'll have to wear my suit on days we're meeting important constituents and such, but any other day I just have to dress "smart", so I'm going to find a few nice shirts and maybe some dress pants.

I'm really getting nervous about my internship! I've been reading the London Times everyday, and will until I start work, so that I'm not completely ignorant when I start work. Maybe I'll impress them with my knowledge of the Labour Conferences going on right now. I start this Monday at noon, so that will be plenty of time to get caught up with the current events. Yesterday I did a dry run to Parliament, so I wouldn't get lost. It was also my first time taking the Tube, and I LOVE it! I was literally going up some stairs to get above ground when I looked up, and there was Big Ben, right overhead. It was SO tall. I was shocked... there was the tower, and Parliament, just sitting there in all it's glory and I'm thinking, damn. I work there. I can't wait, especially since I will probably be meeting some pretty important people. Maybe I'll meet Gordon Brown. Hmmmm. Apparently some interns get to actually go to the location of their MPs constituency, so I hope I get to do that! Yvette's is way in the North of England, so it'd be cool to see other areas of England. I was hoping she represented Wales, or Scotland, or Northern Ireland, so that I could go there, but oh well.

So I was thinking about getting a bank account here in the UK, just in case our economic crisis gets even worse, but then I was thinking that it might be pointless, as their economy sucks right now too. Who knows. What do you think Mom and Dad?

Well I'm going to get ready to go shopping now. Kara and I are going to a Bollywood themed dinner/show tonight at ISH, so that should be pretty sweet. I've wanted to try Indian food forever now, and I really don't think my first time eating it on a crappy plane counts.

Cheers.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb