Cambozola - The Football Team, not the German Cheese


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just hours after arriving back from Croatia I had gathered my football gear and headed to Battersea park where a cup semi final awaited. Unfortunately we had drawn the top team from the division above us, so we were going to be in for a tough match. The weather was scorching, hotter than anything I experienced in Croatia. Nerves were high too, well as high as you could expect for a team that usually turns up 10 minutes before the match. We donned our striking (and for most of us rather tight) purple kit and headed out for a warm up. 2 minutes later everyone was knackered but at least a few beers from the night before had been sweated out of the system. Chris, our captain, coach, manager, right back, part time goalkeeper and babysitter of Shaun has employed a lot of formations in his time but decided today was to be a sensible 4-4-2 outing.

Last year I played mostly as a striker, but due to a sudden influx this year I have played left wing, right wing, centre midfield, striker and even goal keeper. For this match I started as centre midfield, I don't think I touched the ball for the first ten minutes. Play was going up and down the field somewhat skipping the middle of the pitch. One of my first touches was a header off our corner. I only saw the ball once it had been flicked on and sent my header off the top of the post, bugger. Five minutes later we had another corner, Ryan knocked the ball far post, Martin managed to head the ball back into the middle and this time I buried a header above the keepers head into the back of the net. 1-0 to us. Nicola who had come to watch saw the goal but didn't realise it was me, I think I'll have to work on a signature goal-scoring celebration. Despite playing some good football, we conceded 2 runaway goals so went into half time 2-1 down.

A few subs were made and lots of water skulled back. One of our subs made an impact within no time. A clearance was booted forward, I flicked a header on and Emmett chased hard, beat a few players and scored. I'd like to claim an assist but he pretty much did it all. We fought hard but conceded a 3rd. In an attempt to level the scores we pushed players forward and sadly this resulted in them poaching a 4th. So at the final whistle we had been beaten 4-2. Not a bad result considering the league difference. I had a few mementos from the game - massive blisters, my feet must have softened from lazing in the seas of Croatia.

We found a nearby local and had a few beers, this is where our side excels. We reminisced about a successful season, although we didn't make the cup final we did take out the league title and in emphatic style, ending up 13 points above our closest rivals. This was the sides only trophy in 17 years so we celebrated in style by cranking out champagne in the changing sheds. We managed to score 59 goals in 18 matches. I bagged 7 of those in my 13 appearances. So we had a good offence, I won't mention the fact that we didn't keep a clean sheet all season.

I really enjoyed my time playing for Cambozola, which incidentally is named after a German cheese. They are actually about to play in a 8-a-side tournament against the factory that produces it. And who knows perhaps one day they will venture to NZ for fishcakes, football and a few* beers.

(* few = a lot)



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb