Relaxing Weekend


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hyde ParkHyde ParkHyde Park

View of the bridge going over the Serpentine
I thought about doing a bit more sight-seeing this weekend, but then realized that I'll be here almost 2 1/2 more months. I've got more than enough time to put my tourist hat back on. So, I decided to just play it by ear.

On Saturday night, I decided to stay local. Fiona and I went to a gastropub in the neighborhood called The Chamberlayne. While we were enjoying our steak dinners, I found out that one of my clients actually owns the pub, as well as my favorite deli by the studio. No sooner had the words come out of Fiona's mouth before Nick (the owner) walked in. I actually train both him and his wife, so I chit-chatted with both of them after finishing my dinner. The bar area was getting really crowded and since Fiona and I were both feeling pretty tired, we called it a (very) early night and walked home.

I've always been a big fan of Lazy Sundays (second only to Sunday Fundays)...so I made absolutely no plans for today. I have also been in desperate need of a laundry day, so I thought it would probably be smart to take advantage of
Hyde Park / FountainHyde Park / FountainHyde Park / Fountain

Lydia and Daphne with their kids dipping their feet into the Princess Diana Memorial Fountain
my day off and do some washing. Unfortunately, the contractors working on the house poured concrete into one of the drains so we haven't been able to use the showers or washing machine all weekend!! (I know, ew...right?) The plumber finally came this morning and at last...we could clean ourselves, as well as our clothes. Once our personal hygiene was taken care of, Daphne, Pete, Bronte (their daughter) and I went to Hyde Park for lunch. There's a cute cafe on the Serpentine, which is a little river that runs through a bit of the park. We met a few of their friends there and had lunch in the cafe. Once the weather cleared, we moved to an outside table for dessert. We spent a little time at the Princess Diana Memorial Fountain, which is basically a little man-made stream. The funniest part of this little area is that there are 2 "security" people whose sole purpose is to make sure that people don't jump into the stream. They were VERY serious about their job and even though they walked up to everyone to tell them they could only dip their hands and feet in, tons of kids managed to
Hyde Park / FountainHyde Park / FountainHyde Park / Fountain

Just another shot of the Memorial Fountain
get soaking wet.

After a few hours, we headed back home where I began the task of laundry. For some reason, washing machines in England take FOREVER. The wash cycle is 1 1/2 hours. No joke. Daphne says that she has yet to find one here that takes any less time. Yuck. So while my laundry is working, I think I'll try to find some American shows to watch on my computer. I've been dying to see Gossip Girl. I just love those high school dramas... 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BronteBronte
Bronte

Bronte took my camera and took a self portrait
Hyde Park / SerpentineHyde Park / Serpentine
Hyde Park / Serpentine

People enjoying a (rare) sunny day in London with a walk around the Serpentine


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb