London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
March 5th 2007
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FountainFountainFountain

Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain
London is huge, and there is soooo much to see! Saturday morning we got up early to go see the changing of the guards at Buckingham Palace, which is a big, colorful ceremony. We then went to Piccadilly Circus to buy tickets to the Phantom of the Opera, and then on to Big Ben and Parliament. Parliament is one of the coolest buildings I have ever seen. If any of you have ever seen the Griswalds European Vacation you will remember the part in which they get stuck going around in circles and Chevy Chase says "Look kids! Big Ben, Parliament!" over and over each time they go around. Well, I did that of course. 😊 Next we went to see the London Eye and eat waffles with ice cream. It was amazing.

We were about to head back to get ready to go to see Phantom of the Opera when Carla pointed out that we had a little extra time. Being the nerds that we are, we hopped on a bus to King's Cross, the location where part of Harry Potter was filmed. 😊 It is a the train station in which Platform 9 3/4 is located. We found
Buckingham PalaceBuckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace

We went to Buckingham Palace for the changing of the guards ceremony.
it, took pictures, and laughed at ourselves for being such nerds. It was one of my favorite parts of London. 😊

That night we went to see Phantom of the Opera in Her Majesty's Theater. It was amazing! The music was fantastic. I can't even explain how awesome the organ sounds live. It was really incredible.

Sunday morning we got up early and walked to Westminster Abbey for mass. I can't even begin to describe how amazing the choir was. It was such a beautiful mass.

We headed back to the airport and got home around 9:00 p.m. Sunday night. It was a great trip but we were both very exhausted. I don't think I'll stop saying "Mind the gap please!" in a British accent for a long time. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Marching BandMarching Band
Marching Band

Part of the ceremony for the changing of the guards.
Big Ben, ParliamentBig Ben, Parliament
Big Ben, Parliament

"Look kids! Big Ben, Parliament!" :)
Platform 9 3/4Platform 9 3/4
Platform 9 3/4

Yes, this is where Harry Potter went to catch the Hogwarts Express. :)
HostalHostal
Hostal

Our first hostal.


6th March 2007

Dancing School?
Did you find any dancing schools in Spain? Offer still stands for lessons, but it doesn't sound like you have time. I am choreographing "I can do that!" from Chorus line - love to have you perform if you can work it in your schedule. Either using 3 or 5 girls - would love to use 3: You, Chelsi, and Alex. Putting a little tap in it, also. Love your blog, these computer thingys might not be so horrible after all - hahahaha (Grampa said that) Love you sooooo much, Gram
9th March 2007

Hello
I figured I should send a reply to the voice I heard when Chelsi called my room saying "Mr. Carney, I am going to be a little late, I am talking to my sister in Spain" and sure enough I could here you over the phone. Possibly you were in Ireland at the time. That is a place I might visit some day. Sounds like quite an adventure. Say hi to Olga. -Mr. Carney

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb